Daily Archives: July 5, 2008

Associated Press Defines Fair Use?

I don’t think so.

While browsing Dark Skies Blog, I came across this post. The subject matter of the post didn’t interest me as much as the closing remark:

Since this is an AP Poll and since AP charges by the word for excerpting or reprinting their news copy, I will provide only a LINK.

I posted a few comments addressing this, but they have since disappeared. I’m not going to jump to any conclusions; I’ll wait to hear from Dark Skies on that. In the mean time, I’ll just assume it’s some sort of technical glitch.

But that’s not why I’m writing this post. As I mentioned at Dark Skies Blog, I don’t believe that A.P. has the authority to define Fair Use or copyright infringement to suit their personal interests, absent a court ruling.

Mike found this for me through a quick Google search:

Continue reading