The Haunting Duality of Michael Jackson

The tone of discussions regarding Michael Jackson’s death range from utterly grief-stricken to ecstatic and celebratory and everything in between. I cannot honestly say that Jackson was one of my favorite performers, but that is purely down to personal taste. Nevertheless, I can certainly recognize and appreciate how extremely talented the man was. Michael Jackson, King of Pop, made an everlasting impact on the music industry and the world.

Was Jackson a child molester, as some believe? I do not know, and at this point in time, there is only a small handful of people in this world who know the truth about the allegations against him.

I may share more of my thoughts on the subject at a later time, but the main purpose of this post is to share one that Bonnie wrote last night:

“I’ll Be There” was a beautiful song, and I love it to this day. […] I found this haunting video this evening of an older Michael Jackson singing a few strains of this song at the piano, the younger Michael Jackson looking on. It’s symbolic of there being two different Michael Jacksons: […] This haunting duality is what I perceive when I think of Michael Jackson.


A Haunting Rendition

Please click through and read the full post. Be sure to watch the short video too. I believe it contains layers of meaning, possibly more so than any of us will ever realize or understand.

2 responses to “The Haunting Duality of Michael Jackson

  • Ariane5

    Thank you for sharing the link. The video is breathtakingly beautiful and made me cry. I didn’t even know he played the piano.

    Michael was, indeed, a very troubled soul, but I wonder if that was because of us and not him; because of what we have decided is Within Normal Limits and of how we treat people who do not fall within them. He was a man-child and society generally does tend to treat such gentle souls as either homosexuals or paedophiles. Why is it so hard to accept that some of us genuinely do remain stuck in our childhoods…and that this, while unusual, is not a threat?

  • Lottie

    Thanks for commenting Ariane. You make some very interesting and valid points and I appreciate you sharing your thoughts.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

