Celebrating Atheism

“The fool hath said in his heart, there is no God.” Psalms 14:1

A few months ago, I was browsing one of my favorite blogs, and came across a post that I immediately knew I would reference today.

The post is entitled Happy Atheist’s Day. It was written by B.T. Murtagh, author of QuarkScrew. Here is an excerpt:

“The fool hath said in his heart, there is no God.” Psalms 14:1

I can’t count the number of times I’ve had a smugly ignorant theist throw this line at me, like I’d never heard it before, blithely ignoring the fact that I don’t give any credence to the source. I’ve finally decided that I’m just going to adopt and own the putative insult in their psalm, much as the early US adopted the “Yankee Doodle” song. That makes today Atheists’ Day for me (I speak for no one else). Fine, I’m a fool!

The question remains, of course: ”What kind of a fool is he?”

After reading the post in its entirety, which I highly recommend, I am happy to join B.T. in embracing the title of fool.

Happy Atheist’s Day!

12 responses to “Celebrating Atheism

  • thehun

    Ha. How funny that you should post that when earlier today I something addressing that verse from Psalms at Atheist Revolution http://www.atheistrev.com/2009/04/fool-says-in-his-heart.html

    I found it particularly amusing that Matthew 5:22 says, “Whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire.”

    Once again, the theists’ magic book can’t resist contradicting itself, even when it comes to impotently impugning those who don’t believe in their invisible sky daddy.

  • thehun

    oh… and Happy Atheist’s Day! 😀

  • Lottie

    Ha! I had forgotten about that verse in Matthew. Thanks! 😀

  • Lottie

    By the way, Matto, thanks for that link. I read the post you linked to and I’ll definitely have a closer look at the blog when I have the time. It looks good!

  • thehun

    Consider it my Atheist Day gift to you 😉 … because that’s how cheep… errrr frugal, I am. 😛

  • Lottie

    Awww… Thanks! But I didn’t get you anything. ::sniff:: Next year, OK?
    😉

  • B.T. Murtagh

    Thanks for the kind words, Lottie! I had intended to write some kind of follow-up this year, but my mind’s ability to concentrate today is a bit impaired by fever and aches in the old body – funny, that, since the latter was supposedly intelligently designed by an omnipotent superbeing who loves me deeply on a personal level! ;D

    Anyway, Happy Atheist’s Day!

  • Lottie

    Sorry you’re not feeling well, B.T. You take good care of yourself: lots of rest and fluids… You know the drill.

    […] funny, that, since the latter was supposedly intelligently designed by an omnipotent superbeing who loves me deeply on a personal level!

    He’s just showing off His super-dee-duper almighty-ness by making you miserable to try and convince you to believe. Er… something…
    😉

    Hope you feel better soon!

  • Terra

    🙂 I shall be a fool as well…

  • truthwalker

    I didn’t know we had a day. Rock on!

  • Selena

    Hi Lottie! How’s it going now that you’re a bible-belt free yankee? 😆 How’s the boy adjusting? Sorry I haven’t been that social, but I think about y’all and hope you all are doing well. 🙂

  • Lottie

    Hi Selena!

    I really like it here in Minnesota! I feel right at home!
    The Boy is doing well and really likes it too. 😀

    Don’t worry about not being social. I haven’t really been either.
    Guess we’re both in a blogger’s funk. 😉

    I think about you too and always wish you well. Thank you for stopping by. It’s always nice to hear from you.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

