A Family of Friends

You’ll find there’s a family of friends living here,
A small group of minds, and of hearts;
With some of us clever and some of us not,
At times you can’t tell us apart.

There’s one who is cranky, and one who is shy,
And one who is really uncouth;
And just when you think you’ve discovered who’s who,
You’ll really uncover the truth.

The truth that we’re all just a little of each,
A group of imperfects are we
And sometimes I might criticize them to you,
But don’t ever knock them to me.

‘Cause the one thing that ties us together for life-
no matter how far we’re apart,
Is love for each other, a family of friends
A small group of minds, and of hearts.

Judy Blume

5 responses to “A Family of Friends

  • saintpaulgrrl

    Thank you for being a part of my ‘family of friend!’ 🙂

    BTW, Judy Blume is one of my favorite authors!

  • Lottie

    I found this poem years ago, and it came to mind again last night. It seemed so perfect…

    BTW, Judy Blume is one of my favorite authors!

    Everyday, I find something new to love about you! 😉

    I’m so glad we’ve become a ‘family of friends’. I can’t imagine things ever being any other way.

  • Lottie

    By the way, I wouldn’t want this to be misconstrued by anyone as meaning that there’s been trouble on the home front. It’s just that, until now (and apart from Mike, of course) I’ve never been part of a family that loved and supported each other so unconditionally. I think that’s what this poem is about, at least in part, and that is why I posted it.

  • dam

    This is a great poem! Is this the same Judy Blume that wrote the books for girls?

  • Lottie

    I assume so, Deb.

    Glad you like the poem. I’m not big on poetry, but occasionally I stumble across one that I really like. This is one of those.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

