Daily Archives: March 20, 2009

One Year Ago Today

At about this time last year, I was having breakfast with the love of my life, keeper of my heart and most wonderful man in the whole wide world. I know that’s not traditionally how a bride and groom spend the morning of their wedding, but we’ve always been fairly unconventional and figured, why start now?

Two hours later, at approximately 11:30 a.m. on March 20, 2008, we stood in the judge’s chambers at a courthouse in Texas and promised to love, honor, respect and cherish each other until we are parted by death. Tears welled up in my eyes then, just as they have now.

We had hoped to spend our first anniversary together, finally ending our international relationship and living together, once and for all, on the same continent. Circumstances have made that impossible this time around, but that doesn’t diminish how special this day is to me and to us.

Mike and I have been through a lot these past eight years. We’ve overcome many obstacles, supporting and comforting each other along the way. We’ve held hands and climbed mountains. When I grow tired, Mike carries me. When he can climb no longer, I sit by his side while he recovers the strength to carry on.

It’s not always been easy, but it’s felt good and right every step of the way. Besides sharing a powerful love for each other, we are the best of friends; we like each other — a lot! I believe that has kept us going more than just about anything.

We’ve almost reached our mountaintop, my Love. I’m pressing on, with all that I am and all that I have. I know that you are too.

Truly Madly Deeply
by Savage Garden

