Job-Hunting in a Recession

Since my layoff and relocation to Minnesota, the current recession and my need to find work are constantly at the front of my mind.

Bonnie sent me an article this morning. We were discussing last week how I shouldn’t be discouraged by hiring freezes. Just for example, the department where Bonnie works is currently running so lean that if a single position is vacated for whatever reason, it absolutely must be filled.

This, and other varying circumstances, allow companies to hire new employees even during a recession. The following linked article seems to support this. It was very encouraging to me, and I hope it will be useful to others.

Six myths of job-hunting in a recession are listed below. Please refer to the article at Yahoo! hotjobs for details and explanations of each.

  • Myth 1: No one is hiring.
  • Myth 2: The internet is the best place to find jobs.
  • Myth 3: Searching companies in hiring freezes is a waste of time.
  • Myth 4: Expect a salary cut.
  • Myth 5: Companies are not interested in hiring people over age 55.
  • Myth 6: Experience and advanced degrees guarantee a job.

The theme song from The Mary Tyler Moore Showinextricably linked to Minneapolis— just came to mind. I seem to have a song for everything, don’t I?

Love Is All Around
by Paul Williams

Love is all around, no need to waste it
You can have a town, why don’t you take it
You’re gonna make it after all

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2009 Rambling On

9 responses to “Job-Hunting in a Recession

  • saintpaulgrrl

    You’re gonna make it after all…

    Hold that thought, Lottie. I’m optimistic that things will all come together. ((hugs))

  • Lottie

    I feel optimistic too. You know why? Because love is all around… 😉

    (((hugs)))

  • dam

    Haha. You are funny, Lottie, because you really do seem to think in songs. I can laugh because my husband is the same way. So, I’m always on the lookout for a “line” he’s saying from a song!

    Anyway, I sincerely hope your job-hunting goes well, and you find an even better, more meaningful job than your last. (Too bad there’s not some atheist or free-thinking not-for-profit you could run!)

    Peace, Debbie.

  • Lottie

    There’s a song for every occasion. 😉

    Thank you for your very thoughtful comment and well wishes, Debbie.

  • Selena

    All you need is a hat to throw in the air!

  • Lottie

    Yep! I loved that part as a little girl and still do.

    There’s actually a statue of her tossing her hat in Minneapolis. I should try and have my picture taken with it one of these days.

    Here’s a picture.

  • Terra

    🙂 This is a great article…

    *Is slightly jealous that someone’s husband thinks in song… Sounds a bit more romantic than thinking in bad pick up lines ROFL

  • dam

    Hello GF! Just wanted to stop in and say “hi” and wish you luck in your job search! You’re a smart woman, and I’m sure you’ll find something soon. Hope your son is enjoying his new school! 🙂

  • Lottie

    Terra: Glad you liked it!

    Debbie: Thanks so much. You always have something uplifting to say. I really appreciate the encouragement.

    My son is enjoying his new school very much. Tomorrow they’re going roller skating!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

