A People’s Holiday

A Brief History of Martin Luther King Jr. Day

“This is not a black holiday; it is a peoples’ holiday,” said Coretta Scott King after President Ronald Reagan signed the King Holiday Bill into law on November 2, 1983.

I Have A Dream

Video Credit

5 responses to “A People’s Holiday

  • Terra

    I love this speech and hate it too. I love it because of what it said, what is did, what it still has potential to do and more. I hate it because it is brought up to much and dissected to the point where meaning that I used to have is now lost…

  • Lottie

    I know what you mean. I just try to hold on to what it means to me.

  • Terra

    It seems that every history class, a lot of legal classes, and speech (of course), some English classes even want that speech to be a part of the curriculum…

  • Lottie

    Yeah, and like you said, it can be dissected to the point of losing some of its value.

    It still makes me cry, though. I’ve just been crying for days now. 😆

  • Selena

    I have mad respect for this man. I love him and the passion and conviction the spills forth in his speech. He still gives me chills!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

