2:00 a.m. Confessions Of An Insomniac

It’s time to come clean. I’ve been doing this for far too long, and all the secrecy and sneaking around is beginning to wear on me.

I strive to be a good and decent person, but I am only human, so it’s inevitable that I will sometimes falter.

The time has come to get this out into the open: to clear my conscience and let my readers, friends and loved ones know what kind of a person I really am. So I am removing the mask, revealing my secret, and confessing my sin.

Late at night, when I’m alone and have trouble sleeping (which is most of the time) I slip out of bed, lock my bedroom door, switch on the television and watch reruns of House.

I know… And you probably thought I was just smoking pot or something. If only it were so benign.

Dr. House is an amazing character. He’s arrogant, obnoxious and condescending. And that’s on a good day. Typically, he harasses and deliberately humiliates his subordinates; having nothing but contempt for authority, he treats his Chief of Staff in just about the same way. Only, with Dr. Cuddy, he heaps on an extra layer of humiliation with constant reminders that, given the choice between following her instructions and following his, the rest of the staff will defy her every time.

House is crude, abrasive and egocentric. His bedside manner is appalling: he shows absolutely no sympathy or compassion for his patients, and in fact, routinely criticizes and insults them, blaming them for their illness or injury and attributing it their own stupidity.

He is a bitter, unkempt, misogynistic curmudgeon who makes no secret of his addiction to Vicodin. He indiscriminately swallows handfuls of pills in front of, well, anyone at all, even his patients, and he has his subordinates write prescriptions for him.

If he were real, and you met him in person, you might want to punch him in the face, even if you weren’t prone to violence. He’s rude, thoughtless and downright mean a lot of the time.

He uses unconventional and risky methods for diagnosing and treating patients. Informed consent and doctor-patient privilege are meaningless to him; the ends justifies the means.

Dr. House cannot be trusted to keep a promise, a secret or even an appointment.

But you can trust him with your life, and you can take that to the bank.

He’ll do anything and everything to save and cure you, if only to prove that he was right and to earn gloating privileges.

But I think there’s more to Dr. House than meets the eye. Behind the mask of confidence, self-assurance and independence, he has a need to be understood and validated, liked and even loved. The problem is that he’s terrified of all these feelings, so he denies them and mocks anyone who suggests that needing people is anything more than a gross character flaw.

House is the good guy and the bad guy, the hero and the villain. You love to hate him and hate to love him.

Kind of makes me wish I smoked pot.

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2009 Rambling On

13 responses to “2:00 a.m. Confessions Of An Insomniac

  • saintpaulgrrl

    Good post! It kinda makes me wish that I had the urge to get up at 2:00 AM and watch “House.” Coming from a person who has never seen an episode of “House,” that is saying a lot! 😉

  • waltzinexile

    You’ll know you have a real problem if you buy the DVDs and start watching them in the middle of the day.
    Not that I know that firsthand or anything.

  • Lottie

    Bonnie: Apparently the USA channel plays back-to-back episodes in the evenings. Every evening.
    Good Gawd, I cannot start watching that much TV. 😯

    Waltz: Then I guess I’m still OK for now. 😆
    I won’t even be watching the all day House marathon on Tuesday.
    Good to see you again, by the way.

  • Selena

    Lottie, you are the third person THIS WEEK that has talked about this show! I am going to have to put the first season in our Netflix que and start from the beginning! I love your discription of him. This is gonna be fun! I will finally know what my friends are talking about! 🙂

  • Postman

    That Hugh Laurie, he’s an excellent actor. I watch them “religiously”, myself.
    Prior to House, I knew him from Blackadder, Fry & Laurie and Jeeves & Wooster. Talk about yanking yourself out of the quicksand of typecasting, eh?

  • efilyzarcym

    House is freaking brilliant – – and the show…well, it is AWESOME!!!
    Speaking of smoking pot….have you watched Weeds? (It is a Showtime series — I have watched the first three seasons on/from Netflix) – – it is freaking brilliant, too.

  • Pages tagged "condescending"

    […] bookmarks tagged condescending 2:00 a.m. Confessions Of An Insomniac saved by 6 others     sweetcandiies1314 bookmarked on 01/19/09 | […]

  • Lottie

    Selena: It must be a sign! Waaaatch Hooouusssse… 😆
    Seriously, I don’t enjoy much television, but this is good.

    Postman: That’s the kind of religion I could get into!

    Heidi: I haven’t seen Weeds, but I may have to now.

  • waltzinexile

    Selena,

    That’s how it started for my husband. Just an innocent DVD of the first 4 episodes of Season 1, and a three day weekend. Fast forward 72 hours, and we OWNED 3 seasons of the show, and my husband had to shade his eyes and blink when he emerged from the tv room to rejoin the real world.

    Just thought you should know.

  • Selena

    Then Houston, we have a problem! 😀

  • Terra

    I adore House… Adore

  • SuperJesus

    I think we have a similar wistful from-afar relationship with pot. We also like House a lot. Hey wait, we’re also two vocal blogging atheists. I can’t decide if I should be amused thinking we should date or sad that I’m not quite as unique as I thought I was.

    I don’t suppose you write software in Ohio too, because that would be weird. Maybe you’re just me in drag? That would be even weirder.

    Um, I should probably go now.

  • Lottie

    Hey there, SuperJesus! Welcome to my humble abode!

    I’m sorry to tell you that I do not write software in Ohio. I guess it just wasn’t meant to be.

    Maybe we can still be friends?

    Thanks for stopping by!

    P.S. I only dress in Jesus drag the third Tuesday of every other month.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

