On the Ball

My back hurts constantly. Stretching helps, but sometimes I just can’t seem to stretch enough. I’ve imagined that doing back-bends would feel good, but I wouldn’t dare try it for fear of paralyzing or killing myself.

Then I thought a yoga ball might be just the thing!

I rarely spend money on things I don’t absolutely need because, quite frankly, I rarely have it to spend. yogaball-main_thumb2But as I was walking into Walmart this afternoon, right at the entrance where they display various sale items, was a shelf full of yoga balls in just my size. The balls come with an exercise guide and an air pump, and they were on sale for only $10! I couldn’t pass it up!

I managed to ease myself into the position illustrated here and it was everything I had hoped it would be, and more. It stretched not only my back, but my neck and chest as well. It felt great!

I’ll probably be a little sore, as with any new exercise or stretching routine, but this could be just the thing for me.

I’m thinking about getting one of these next. My butt would love me!

7 responses to “On the Ball

  • saintpaulgrrl

    You actually got yourself in THAT position?? I’m lucky if I can sit on the damn thing without falling off!

  • Lottie

    Yep! I just sat on it at first and then slowly rolled back.

    Actually, looking at it again, I probably wasn’t in a full back-bend. My hands weren’t touching the floor, my arms were just bent that direction.

    I didn’t hold it for long because I started feeling wobbly, but it really felt good. I even got a few pops right between shoulder blades, where I usually feel the most fatigued.

    Maybe I’ll sleep better tonight.

  • cutelilgaara

    That…takes amazing skill. I tried doing that with a ball and I fell so many times. It was hilariously painful. Plus that chair is really groovy. What does it do for your butt though?

  • Lottie

    I was reading about it before I bought the ball, and they say it’s important to use the right size ball for your height to maintain proper balance. Here’s a size chart if you’re interested. The one that was on sale just happened to be my size.

    It wasn’t really difficult at all for me, but like I told Bonnie, on second thought, I don’t think I was actually in a full back-bend like the person in the photo because my hands weren’t on the floor like that.

    The chair is supposed act as a sort of shock absorber. According to what I’ve read, it promotes ergonomic sitting and relieves spinal stress. I sit a lot for my job (and now homeschooling) and my butt hurts after sitting in this horrible chair all day. The chair in the picture looks like it would be much more comfortable.

    Good to see you, by the way. Hope all is well with you.

  • dam

    I love those balls…We also have the little miracle balls that you put under your lower back. My husband loves those.

    Hope you feel better, Lottie!

  • cutelilgaara

    Haha. It’s good to be back. School was horrible.
    I also hope all is going well on your side of the computer screen.

  • Lottie

    Dam: Thank you for the well wishes. I have lower back pain too, so I might have to try those miracle balls.

    Cutelilgaara: Sorry to hear about school. Glad to see you again, though.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

