S-U-C-C-E-S-S

That’s the way we spell success!

Our first day of homeschooling couldn’t have been better! John was motivated and eager, and his energy was contagious. It was great to see him smiling and excited about school again.

The assignments in the outlines I have posted are quite easy. They are, for the most part, a record to show that we are meeting the minimum requirements, and then some. John’s educational experience is by no means limited to the assignments recorded on my blog. I could not possibly record every learning experience that he and I share together.

Math has been quite intense for John this year. Not only had it become more difficult, as would be expected, but his math teacher was extremely critical and demanding. She describes herself as “passionate” and claims that her methods motivate students. I describe her as obnoxious, and her methods did nothing but discourage my son and make him feel bad about himself.

What she calls “motivating”, I call humiliating and belittling.

In an effort to help restore John’s confidence, I have decided to back up a bit in the math department. Right now we are reviewing material that he is familiar with, and we’ll gradually progress to more challenging work. My hope is that this will remind him of just how much he does know, and help relieve some of his anxiety over math. It will also give me an opportunity to find out, first hand, what he knows and where he gets stuck. This way, I can have a better idea of how to help him improve.

I had fully expected a call from the school today but didn’t receive one. The letter of withdrawal should be the end of it. I guess I’ll find out in the next week or so if that’s going to be the case. I certainly don’t want a fight, but I’m prepared for one. Hopefully, it will end with the letter and we can continue with the business of homeschooling without unnecessary distractions.

You know I’ll keep you posted!

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2009 Rambling On

14 responses to “S-U-C-C-E-S-S

  • dam

    Well, hello, Lottie! Glad to be back in Texas and even more glad to hear that homeschooling is going well!!!! I haven’t had a chance to read through your other entries yet, but did you start another blog about homeschooling?

  • Lottie

    Welcome home, Dam! I sure did miss you! Hope you enjoyed your vacation.

    Looks like you found the other blog. I’ll catch up on comments there this afternoon.

  • Postman

    Good for you. Personally, it was long after the “too late” mark that I discovered how interesting math could be.

  • Lottie

    Howdy, Postman! Good to see you!

    Yeah, same here. I’ll definitely need some help teaching math if we end up doing this long-term.

  • lalibertina

    Hi Lottie! I found you via Dam’s blog. I don’t want to be a wet blanket but as a homeschooler of 10 years I just feel I should warn you that most people who begin homeschooling after public school experience a “honeymoon” phase. I’m glad things are going well so far but don’t be too confused if/when things don’t. Wishing you all the best!

  • Lottie

    Hi! Thanks for stopping by! And thanks for your comment. I appreciate any and all feedback on this as it is completely uncharted territory for me.

    In your experience and/or observations, what kind of problems might I expect after the “honeymoon”?

    Thanks again for stopping by. Please always feel welcome!

  • lalibertina

    From what I’ve seen, the honeymoon phase is when kids are like “yea! I get to sleep in, and wear pajamas if I want and isn’t Mom great!” and then it turns into “I hate teachers…and Mom is a cleverly disguised teacher after all!”. 🙂 That’s when they get all whiney and noodley and act like their blood is molasses and they are incapable of a single thought. lol It happened with all three of mine and two of them are even Unschooled (with a capital U).

    You said you were relieved in a previous post that you didn’t have to duplicate school at home. I cannot stress enough how right the commenter was! I strongly encourage you to read some John Holt and check out some Unschooling pages. You may not agree with how it may or may not work for your family but it will assure you at least that even doing the exact opposite of “school at home” turns out bright, happy and well-educated children.

  • Lottie

    The first day of homeschooling, my son told me that he hadn’t been able to sleep the night before. He said he was too excited and compared it to how he feels on Christmas Eve. 😆

    Thanks for heads up. Now I won’t be completely shocked when I go from being Santa Clause to being an ogre.

    I’ll definitely check out the sources you suggested. I’m open to looking at all options.

  • themarque

    Hey I’ve been reading some of your posts and they’re extremely entertaining. Way to go on homeschooling your child. I was homeschooled most of my life and it was great.

    By the way if you want to check out my blog it’s themarque.org not whatever this links to.

  • Lottie

    Glad you like it. Thanks for commenting.

  • Postman

    Howdy, Lottie.

    I don’t know if you’re familiar with Greg Laden’s blog, but I just ran across this there and thought you’d be interested:
    http://scienceblogs.com/gregladen/2009/01/homeschooling_carnival_up.php

  • Lottie

    Thanks, Postman!

    The name seems familiar, but I don’t recall having seen his blog before.

    I definitely need to stay on top of the science, so thanks a bunch!

    By the way, can you believe I had typed “blag” for “blog”? Remember that?
    😆

  • Postman

    Freudian slip? Were you planning a heist?

  • Lottie

    Nothing quite so elaborate. 😉

You must be logged in to post a comment.

