Happy New Year!

I guess I’d better make my New Year’s post before the clock rolls over.

I’ve been a bit preoccupied lately. School starts next week and I’m trying to put together a workable homeschool curriculum. There’s no shortage of sources, but reviewing them and finding the right ones can be very time consuming.

Of course, I also have to work, keep up with the housework, make sure we’re both fed and still make time to relax and laugh with my sweet pea. It’s a challenge, but we’ll work together and get it done.

We’re very excited about homeschooling! I believe I’ve found the perfect science curriculum; it’s from Evolution and the Nature of Science Institutes (ENSI). We’ll start with a unit called Nature of Science. It teaches what science is and is not, discusses the limits of science and corrects misconceptions about it, and eventually leads to a study of human evolution.

I’m really looking forward to this course of study.

My son also wants to study the American Revolution. I’m pretty sure I’ll use BBC History as a guide, but if anyone knows of other good sources for teaching this subject, please post a link in comments. I need to put the lesson together over the weekend, so I’ll take all the help I can get.

Everything else is coming together nicely. This year is going to be great!

  • We’ll get Mike’s immigration taken care of and we can finally live as a family on the same continent!
  • I have made a wonderful friend who is more like the big sister I never had, and I look forward to the continued growth of that relationship.
  • Barack Obama will be sworn in as President of the United States.
  • We’re happy, healthy and loved.

Happy New Year, readers, friends and loved ones. May we continue to grow, learn, share and laugh together.

Peace and happiness to you all!

Sincerely,
Lottie

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2009 Rambling On

7 responses to “Happy New Year!

  • saintpaulgrrl

    Awww, Lottie, did you have to go and tell everyone that I’m the “big sister!” I’m not THAT big! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I want you to know what a blessing you are in my life, both you and your son. And when you get that husband of yours on the same continent, I’m eager to meet him in person, too!

    Happy New Year, my wonderful “little sister” and very dear friend! (((hugs)))

  • Terra

    First, I have to say I am quite jealous of the science there at the beginning. Those understandings before becoming an adult and putting the pieces together himself? He is already going to be ahead of the game.

    Since you look like you want to be an “honest” teacher, I would look into having your son read Daughter of Time by Tey (I can’t for the life of me remember the first name.) It isn’t a history book per say, but it teaches the most valuable lesson about history that can be taught (in my mind anyway.)

    I wish you tons of luck…

  • Terra

    It just dawned on me (I am a little slow today) that I didn’t mention why I think that book is a great place to start. It is a easy to read little book, that if thought about after it is read teaches us that history also isn’t absolute. Mistakes are made, and it attempts to show reasoning. There are some that hold specific beliefs in regards to the story line, but while the storyline holds your attention the attention to more than one idea is what I feel is important.

  • truthwalker

    Ok, wait, so you are headed for a nuclear family? AND you home school? Know what’s funny? I bet you appear a lot more fundamentalist Christian than you did when you were one.

    If you post that you think you shouldn’t cut your hair anymore and you going to start wearing ankle length dresses all the time, I’m going to get worried.

  • Lottie

    Bonnie: I hope you know how important you are to me as well. Having you as a friend, even for this relatively short time, has improved and enriched my life in many ways. “John” sleeps with the lion and the snow leopard you gave him when you took us to the zoo. When he talks about you and Dale, as he often does, he calls you “our best friends” from Minnesota. Thank you for such a great time and for being such a great friend and sister. Next time we get together, you’ll get to meet your “little” brother-in-law. He’s 6’4″.
    ๐Ÿ˜†

    Terra: Thank you for inspiring the science lesson. I had been planning to open with Evolution 101, but after our talk, I thought this approach might be a better. I’m always encouraged by your effort and determination to keep an open mind and learn new things.

    You’re right about history not being as absolute as some might think. I think the American Revolution is a case in point. Sure there are facts that can’t be disputed, but how those facts are presented is something else altogether. Having an English husband, I can tell you that he and I learned about the Revolution from slightly different perspectives. I think I’ve found a good source, though. I’m going to use the BBC articles and a lesson I found on PBS Teachers. I’ll blog more about it later. I’ll also put your book recommendation on the list to keep a lookout for.

    Truthwalker: It’s funny… I was thinking the same thing. From the outside, we probably look like a “nice Christian” family. Dresses are out of the question for me, but did I mention I don’t wear makeup?
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • dam

    Lottie, I like your optimism and your sense of gratitude. About history…have you ever read “That Noble Dream”? Gives a great perspective on “history.” Good luck with homeschool and with bringing your husband home to you!

  • Lottie

    Thanks, Dam! I haven’t read it, but I’ll put it on my list of books to keep an eye out for.

    Thanks for the luck! ๐Ÿ˜€

You must be logged in to post a comment.

