Marijuana Treats Fibromyalgia

Since I’m always looking for ways to manage pain, I wonder how I missed this:

Marijuana-based Drug Reduces Fibromyalgia Pain, Study Suggests

ScienceDaily (Feb. 18, 2008) — Patients with fibromyalgia treated with a synthetic form of marijuana, nabilone, showed significant reductions in pain and anxiety in a first-of-its-kind study, published in The Journal of Pain.

Fibromyalgia syndrome has no cure, is difficult to diagnose, and effective pain management strategies are a must to help patients cope with the disease. An estimated 12 million Americans have fibromyalgia, which is characterized by widespread muscle and joint pain and myriad other symptoms.[…]

The drug was well tolerated by treated patients, which the authors characterized as reassuring since fibromyalgia patients are sensitive to most medications and have difficulty tolerating side effects. The downside, however, is cost. In Canada, nabilone would cost about $4,000 for a year’s supply.

SceinceDaily

Kind of makes me wish pot was legal. Wonder how much it goes for these days.

I should probably say, just so there’s absolutely no misunderstanding about this: I would never use an illegal substance! Not even if it would take away my pain, and not even if I thought said substance should be legal. I simply would not risk losing my child over it.

Interesting article, though.

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

11 responses to “Marijuana Treats Fibromyalgia

  • map0wt0fu

    hmmmm, how interesting. This is random but if marijuana was legal, I wonder if more people would smoke marijuana or cigarettes

  • dam

    I actually read this, too. I think there was an article about it on Medscape. Isn’t the medical use of pot legal in California? I think so.

  • Lottie

    Map: Who knows? Maybe they’d be better off…

    Here are some arguments for legalization if you’re interested.

    Dam: I think you’re right about it being legal in California. In Texas, though, not so much. But I’m sure I don’t need to tell you about that.

    Do you ever feel like we’re frozen in time down here? 😆

  • Selena

    I think marijuana would treat all kinds of painful conditions hehe. If it became legal, it would be cheaper to grow your own…

    Without naming names, someone very close to me had a nice little crop of his own growing back in the day and it wasn’t that hard to maintain.

  • Lottie

    I agree. I think there are a lot of good arguments for legalization and a lot of good uses for cannabis.

  • autoimmunelife

    Dam: I’m originally from california… and if you can get a doctor to prescribe it, I believe you can get it…. but I also think that generally they won’t prescribe it to you without having cancer or something of that nature… I never tried when I was there…. but I do know that last I heard, doctors weren’t really going for it with most patients.

  • truthwalker

    Oddly enough, I am a big fan of the legalization of marijuana. I say oddly because I’ve never smoked any, and I was in my 20’s before I even saw any.

    California does have legal medical marijuana, but the DEA says it is illegal to posses marijuana even if you got it from a doctor, and continues to prosecute medical users and the doctors who prescribe it.

    It all goes to support my theory that California should succeed! 30 million people, a larger land mass than France, and the 8th largest economy on earth. The Midwest doesn’t want them in the union anyway.

  • anonymous

    I suffer from severe fibromyalgia and Myofascial Pain Syndrome. I hsve had it for over !5 years. And let me tell you, when you are in severe pain 24/7, you are willing to try anything to get some relief! I tried it for my pain for the 1st time a couple of months ago and let me tell you, NOTHING and I mean NOTHING has helped as much as cannabis!

    It has helped more than any pain med I have ever taken. Not only does it help with the pain, but it helps with a multitude of other symptoms that accompany FMS and Mfps. It brings my eneehy level back to where it should be, helps with the rhinitus, IBS, insomnia, painful intercourse, tinnitus, TMJ, depression, motor skull disfunction, mental clarity and fibrofog and much more. For the 1st time in years I feel like myaelf again. I can clean My house again and actually keep up with my family. helps with stress and anxiety also.

    I truly believe that cannabis is THE miracle drug for FMS and MFPS.

    Please dont knock it until you try it. It really has changed my life. i even got my sense of humor back!

    Take care all of you Fibromites and God bless!

  • Lottie

    I am very sorry for your pain, but happy to hear that you’ve found relief. I really didn’t mean to knocking it at all, though I was probably being a little overly cautious. I have a vindictive ex spouse who wouldn’t think twice about using an endorsement of pot for pain against me in a custody dispute. I’m really not worried about him anymore, though, so I can say: Excellent! Thanks so much for sharing your story and your awesome results! I think you’re right about it being a “miracle drug”, not only for FMS and MFPS, but a variety of other ailments as well.

  • anonymous

    don’t get me wrong, I would never tell people that I use it for pain. Only my husband and my best friend know. And them, only because they know how much pain I truly do suffer thru. It isnt anybody’s business, right? So, if you are afraid people would ridicule you for doing it, then you don’t need to tell anybody.

    I look at it this way…

    We already suffer enough ridicule from people because we have to rely on pain pills so we can even get out of bed and be there for our family and friends, why suffer thru more? If others don’t understand it is because they dont live with it, we do!

  • Lottie

    Exactly! I couldn’t agree more! I really appreciate your commenting on this.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

