The Divine Plan

In the last week or so, I’ve seen three posts on three different blogs, all asking the question, “Why pray?” As you can probably imagine, all of the authors addressed the question from different perspectives.

Despite their very different approaches, each one of them reminded me of a bit from the late George Carlin’s HBO special, You Are All Diseased, and I felt led by the spirit of George to share it with you here.

From the linked website:

[…] Pray for anything you want. Pray for anything, but what about the Divine Plan?

Remember that? The Divine Plan. Long time ago, God made a Divine Plan. Gave it a lot of thought, decided it was a good plan, put it into practice. And for billions and billions of years, the Divine Plan has been doing just fine. Now, you come along, and pray for something. Well suppose the thing you want isn’t in God’s Divine Plan? What do you want Him to do? Change His plan? Just for you? Doesn’t it seem a little arrogant? It’s a Divine Plan. What’s the use of being God if every run-down shmuck with a two-dollar prayerbook can come along and fuck up Your Plan?

And here’s something else, another problem you might have: Suppose your prayers aren’t answered. What do you say? “Well, it’s God’s will.” “Thy Will Be Done.” Fine, but if it’s God’s will, and He’s going to do what He wants to anyway, why the fuck bother praying in the first place? Seems like a big waste of time to me! Couldn’t you just skip the praying part and go right to His Will? It’s all very confusing.

George Carlin had a wonderful way of cutting right through the bullshit, didn’t he? And listening to him is so much better than just reading the text. So, shall we?

[WARNING: The following video contains strong language and content that some viewers may find offensive. It’s probably not work or kid friendly.]

9 responses to “The Divine Plan

  • dam

    I’ll have to watch this one when my kids are not near! I suppose you’re talking about the ‘Why Pray?’ entry I wrote a few weeks ago… I actually wrote about it, too, last summer from a different POV. (I know, I need to organize my blog.) Thing is, sometimes, I really DO understand why people pray. It’s just the narcissitic aspect that sort of gets to me…Know what I mean?

  • Lottie

    Dam,

    Yes, your Why Pray? was one of the posts that reminded me of this. It was a good post, and I completely understood and agreed with what you said. In fact, it was the only one of the three that I could relate to.

    It’s just the narcissitic aspect that sort of gets to me…Know what I mean?

    Absolutely.

    I posted this in a spirit of lightheartedness. It’s not intended as a serious response to any of the posts that reminded me of it which is why I didn’t name or link to any of them. I didn’t want to create confusion or cause offense.

    And yet I posted a George Carlin video. 😆

    Yeah, you’ll definitely want to wait until the kids aren’t around. I don’t know if you’re familiar with Carlin, but he can quite crass.

    I’ll have a look around for the other post you wrote on the subject. I’ve been enjoying your blog very much.

  • Lottie

    Thanks, Girl. I’ll have a closer look tomorrow. If I don’t lie down soon, I’m going to fall off this chair.

  • dam

    Oh, no offense taken! I didn’t think you were in any way being mean-spirited! I really enjoy chatting with you.

    Carlin is a hoot, but my kids hone right in to stuff like that!

    Talk later!

  • Lottie

    My son enjoys doing impressions, so I definitely can’t let him listen to Carlin. I can just image getting a call from the school about that.

    . 😯

  • saintpaulgrrl

    George Carlin has always given me something to think about in his crass, irreverent way. (I can relate to crass and irreverent! 😉 ) Thanks for keeping his memory alive, Lottie.

  • Lottie

    I can relate to crass and irreverent!

    I can too. But you probably knew that. 😆

    I always loved George Carlin. He definitely made me think. I wrote this right after he died:

    George taught people to think outside the box and not take things at face value; to wonder and question and think for ourselves. He challenged us and taught us how to challenge ourselves. And he did all this while also teaching us not to take ourselves, or even him, too fucking seriously.

    I had to use the F word in his honor. 😆

  • efilyzarcym

    I LOVED this blog!!
    This was actually very similar to a conversation I had with my sister this weekend.
    I am bound and determined not to be the only black sheep in my family….LMAO!! 🙂

You must be logged in to post a comment.

