Melissa Etheridge: “Forget About My Taxes”

Melissa Etheridge is taking a powerful stand against California’s Proposition 8. She says that since she and her wife (roommate? partner?) are considered second class citizens, California can forget about their half million in state taxes.

Anyways, she and I are not allowed the same right under the state constitution as any other citizen. Okay, so I am taking that to mean I do not have to pay my state taxes because I am not a full citizen. I mean that would just be wrong, to make someone pay taxes and not give them the same rights, sounds sort of like that taxation without representation thing from the history books.

Okay, cool I don’t mean to get too personal here but there is a lot I can do with the extra half a million dollars that I will be keeping instead of handing it over to the state of California. Oh, and I am sure Ellen will be a little excited to keep her bazillion bucks that she pays in taxes too. Wow, come to think of it, there are quite a few of us fortunate gay folks that will be having some extra cash this year. What recession? We’re gay!

The Daily Beast

I have to say that I admire Melissa’s stand, and I would love to see other celebrities and California residents get behind her on this.

[Edit to add: Thanks to John Bisceglia for providing this update in comments under this post.]

Melissa closes with this heart-warming statement:

Today the gay citizenry of this state will pick themselves up and dust themselves off and do what we have been doing for years. We will get back into it. We love this state, we love this country and we are not going to leave it. Even though we could be married in Mass. or Conn, Canada, Holland, Spain and a handful of other countries, this is our home. This is where we work and play and raise our families. We will not rest until we have the full rights of any other citizen. It is that simple, no fearful vote will ever stop us, that is not the American way.

I can’t think of a better way to follow that than to watch Melissa Etheridge perform California:

California
Melissa Etheridge

Raised up on mid-western dreams
Only a few shall get
What everyone shall need
I took my family’s burden
Strapped it to my chest
A few hundred bucks,
And a kiss for luck
And I pointed my dreams west

To California
Come rescue me
California
I am almost free

I kept on driving to the setting sun
Galaxies of angels
Welcome everyone
I took my heart out of its box
Attached it to my sleeve
Well, I will be here every night
Because that’s what I believe

In California
Come rescue me
California
I am almost free

I will find my love
I will know my peace
I will seek my truth
I am almost free
I am almost free…

I am almost free
I am almost free
I am almost free

In California
I am almost free
In California
I am almost free
(Rescue me)
California
I am almost free

8 responses to “Melissa Etheridge: “Forget About My Taxes”

  • johnbisceglia

    Thanks for posting this, Lottie. Here’s the latest press:

    GAY TAX REVOLT GROWS –
    http://www.ebar.com/news/article.php?sec=news&article=3496

    The NATIONAL EQUALITY TAX PROTEST will be on Wednesday, April 15th, 2009.

    Individuals are FINALLY gathering to TAKE A STAND against persecution from the Mormons & the Christian “Right”. No vote will be needed on this one, folks. Taxation WITHOUT equality will NOT happen!

  • danaofthebells

    I’m in Arizona, and we’re fighting for what we can down here, too.

    It is good to see public figures stand up for such a sad injustice. Eventually, we’ll win this.

  • Postman

    Excellent! So, since so many people seem to think atheists shouldn’t be citizens, do we get to give taxes a miss, also?

  • saintpaulgrrl

    I love Melissa’s courage! She’s one of my favorite people. πŸ™‚

  • Lottie

    Dana: I’m always happy to see public figures take a stand as well. Thanks for commenting, and good luck to you!

    Postman: If I had enough money and prestige for it to matter, I might! πŸ˜†

    Seriously, though, while I think paying taxes is very important, I respect and admire acts of civil disobedience. And like Dana mentioned, it’s always encouraging to see public figures step up to the plate.

    I say if they’re aware of the risks and willing to face the potential consequences, more power to ’em!
    . πŸ˜€

    Bonnie: Me too! And boy can she sing! I get goosebumps listening to her!

  • Lottie

    John:

    Sorry your comment didn’t go up with the others. My spam filter is being ultra-sensitive today for some reason, and it gobbled yours up. Glad I check that thing instead of just deleting it all.

    Thanks for the stopping by and for the link. Please feel welcome any time.

  • cutelilgaara

    Wow. That is absolutely amazing and courageous. I’ve heard recently that the case has been taken up by the California Supreme Court and will have a hearing in May. I hope everything goes well! But thanks for the update. This was certainly very inspiring [her comments were hilarious, btw].

  • Lottie

    I thought her comments were funny too. I know she was dead serious, but she has a… fun way with words that made me smile and even laugh out loud a time or two.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

