Mike etc.

Mike is here. He arrived safely and without incident. We’re having coffee now and will head out shortly for a Mexican breakfast. Mike has been jonesing for barbacoa; I haven’t decided yet what I’ll have but I’m leaning toward chorizo and eggs.

After breakfast we’ll go and do some shopping with champagne at the top of the list. We’re planning a celebration after the votes are counted tonight. I think we’re going to make history!

I want to thank all of you for your support these past few days. I’ve had a lot on my mind and it’s comforting to know that others relate and care. Even those who are reading along but not commenting provide encouragement; my numbers are increasing daily and it’s uplifting to know that people are interested enough to keep checking in.

I’ve been thinking a lot about one of the posts I linked to here. It’s the second link, entitled Senator Dole’s New Anti-Atheist Advertisement. While I understand the point Alonzo is trying to make, I do not agree with the notion that expecting people in positions of authority to speak out against bigotry toward any group is “hiding behind” them. I understand the dilemma; I know that being viewed as an ‘atheist sympathizer’ could be political suicide, but we’re talking about elected officials whose responsibility is to all their constituents, not just those who share their personal views and prejudices.

I would like to elaborate on this and a few other thoughts on this article, but my time with Mike is very limited and precious, so it will have to wait for now. More on that later.

In closing I want to encourage everyone to go and vote today. I’m sure we all know which candidate has my support and, of course, I would like everyone to vote for Barack Obama. Most important, though, is that you exercise your right to vote at all; it’s one of the only opportunities most of us will ever have to make our voices heard on the national stage.

And, again, my thoughts and condolences to Barack Obama and his family during their time of grief; let’s hope we can give them something to celebrate at the end of the day.

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

4 responses to “Mike etc.

  • saintpaulgrrl

    I wish I was having breakfast with you guys this morning. I’m going to indulge in some of those good Mexican-style breakfasts later this month, you can bet on that! πŸ™‚

    I wish that the votes were already counted — and that the news is good. This is a long day….

  • Lottie

    They’re starting to roll in now! I’ll be glued to the TV for the next little while and I’ll be talking to you soon!

    . πŸ˜€

  • Gary Murning

    Pleased to hear that that Mike bloke arrived safe and sound πŸ˜‰ I owe him an email, still, tell him. Haven’t forgotten, just still having trouble getting my arse in gear in certain areas!

    Love to you both and, putting on my best political commentator hat, Thank Fuck for That!

    All my Sarah Palin posts are already looking incredibly dated… and it’s a huge, huge relief!

  • Lottie

    Thanks, Gary! Mike actually read your comment to me while I was making coffee, so he got your message.

    I was thinking along the same lines about Palin. I’ve almost felt obligated to listen to her mindless drivel for the past few months. But now she can go back to being the nobody (to me) that she was before, and I don’t have to listen to a single thing the crazy bitch says. She’s history. And I’m moving forward!

    . πŸ˜€

You must be logged in to post a comment.

