Dear McCain-Palin Supporters:

During the past few weeks, I’ve seen the most pathetic joke of a Presidential campaign in the history of the United States. Following that, I cannot possibly try to engage in another serious discussion with anyone who would still support the sideshow of McCain & Palin.

Many have charged —and I agree— that John McCain picked Sarah Palin because she is a woman. Others maintain that he chose her because he believes she is qualified and would be ready to take over the Presidency from day one. In either case, McCain’s choice is an insult to the intelligence of American voters and a piss-poor reflection on his own judgment.

After listening to Palin’s incoherent word salad, inability to name a single Supreme Court decision or even one news source that she reads regularly, her obvious ignorance of what the “Bush Doctrine” is, much less what it entails, her claim that being able to see Russia from Alaska gives her foreign policy experience, her statement that the bailout bill was about health care, and so on, if you still maintain that she is more prepared for the Presidency than Barack Obama, you are not firing on all cylinders.

I do not believe you can be reasoned with, and I will not waste any further time attempting to do so.

I’ve written this post so that I only have to say it once: I can no longer take any of you seriously, and will not attempt to do so for the remainder of this election. Hopefully, you’ll all regain your faculties in the days and weeks following Election Day, whatever the result.

Henceforth, I will simply link to this post any time a McCain supporter attempts to engage me using the same regurgitated rhetoric I’ve been hearing from the McCain campaign.

Thank you, and have a nice day.

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

6 responses to “Dear McCain-Palin Supporters:

  • A Student's Life

    You’re right. It seems like the logic coming out of the right wing is extremely distorted. Even when those from the right wing were critical of Palin’s interview, they were dismissed as being “Intellectual conservatives” and brushed off to the side. It seems like people are only supporting Palin because she is McCain’s choice…even if she is the worst choice. There is no real rational or logical discourse within the party itself. They seem like they are blinded by the colours of their party. Even if McCain were to select a monkey for a VP running mate, the conservatives were die defending the monkey and would do and say anything to prove to you that the monkey is in fact smart and knows what its talking about.

    Its funny because right after Palin accepted the VP pick, the BBC interviewed one of the delegates on the floor and the delegate literally said she likes Sarah Palin because she didn’t use big words.

    But what can you do, right? This is democracy for you.

  • Lottie

    So sad, but oh so true.

    Thanks for commenting.

  • Rutherford

    I’ve covered this extensively on my blog so I won’t leave all the links here but I’ve hit it from the insult to women (“John McCain Female Woman Haters Club”) to the emergence and acceptance of “white ebonics” (“The Double Standard in the Form of Palin”). I was talking to my Dad last evening and he basically said if McCain and Palin get elected it will be proof positive that the country has lost its collective mind.

    On the bright side, ain’t the Internet great? Now whenever someone throws the pro-Palin nonsense at you, you can just leave a link to this post as your calling card. 🙂

  • Lottie

    I was talking to my Dad last evening and he basically said if McCain and Palin get elected it will be proof positive that the country has lost its collective mind.

    I love your dad! 😆

    On the bright side, ain’t the Internet great? Now whenever someone throws the pro-Palin nonsense at you, you can just leave a link to this post as your calling card.

    I know I’ll get criticized for it; called a chicken or whatever, but that’ll speak more to their character than it will to mine. I just hate repeating myself and wasting time trying to reason with people who are clearly not exercising reason in the first place.

    Thanks for commenting again. I was hoping you would. 😀

  • wewillsurvive

    You’re making a lot of good points here. I think McCain is the best of the Republican candidates, and I think he is the hardest candidate for Obama to beat, but Palin has proven to everyone, time after time that her becoming VP is not only a big joke, but also a very scary thought.

    It’s simply a very scary thing to think about that of something would happen to McCain, Palin would be president of the United States.

  • Lottie

    It’s simply a very scary thing to think about that of something would happen to McCain, Palin would be president of the United States.

    Indeed! This morning I came across something Bill Clinton said that hadn’t occurred to me:

    Senator Obama has spoken a lot about how we oughta relate to the world, and yes, he’ll get out and travel some in the first year, we should want him to do it. But he is going to have to be really focused on fixing this economy. That means that role of the Vice President in repairing quickly our relations with the rest of the world will be relatively more important in the first two years of the next presidency.

    Can you imagine Little Miss I-have-foreign-policy-experience-because-I-can-see-Russia -from-Alaska traveling the world to meet with the foreign leaders?

    Yikes! 😯

You must be logged in to post a comment.

