Disillusioned Again

I felt a pain in my chest and tears in my eyes when I read this:

In order to be certain that God doesn’t exist, you have to possess a godlike mental capacity – the ability to be 100% certain. A human can’t be 100% certain about anything. Our brains aren’t that reliable. Therefore, to be a true atheist, you have to believe you are the very thing that you argue doesn’t exist: God.

Why should this induce such an emotional response? It’s a very common, done-to-death argument against atheism. It should be rolling off my back by now, shouldn’t it? And it does when it comes from random theists on the internet. But do you know who said it this time?

Scott Adams!

That’s right! Scott Adams, creator and writer of the comic strip, Dilbert. You can read Scott’s blasphemous words here.

I’m not sure where to go from here. Can I carry on liking Dilbert? Do I renounce my love and admiration for him and his creator? Can I keep my copy of The Dilbert Principle? If not, can I just sell it in a yard sale or donate it to the public library, or do I have to destroy it to avoid being complicit in the advancement of this evil-doer’s comic strips?

Dilemmas, dilemmas…

Well, I suppose if I’m still willing to see Religulous after hearing Bill Maher blathering like he’s deranged (thanks Postman!), surely I can keep a book that I already have, and read a comic strip that doesn’t cost me anything.

I’m a little worried about what Richard Dawkins will think of my decision because I don’t know if he has the authority to excommunicate people. Now, I know what you’re thinking: What self-respecting atheist doesn’t know something like that, right? And I haven’t even read The God Delusion!

I know…

But more importantly, I hope Charles Darwin isn’t turning in his grave (he is still dead, right?). I’d hate to disturb the rest of such a great prophet. I mean, what if he can turn me into a chimp or a lemur or something? Would I have to move to Madagascar?

Well, these are all risks I’m willing to take. Please keep me in your prayers labs… no. Dream about me? Shit. Just keep reading my blog (and try to bring a four-leaf clover or rabbit’s foot with you, just in case) as I embark on the courageous journey of testing the powers of high-ranking atheists and the Father of Evolution (Call me a maverick).

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

5 responses to “Disillusioned Again

  • Postman

    You should round up some atheistickal friends without brains, heart or courage and head for Oxford to see the Wizard.

  • Lottie

    And pay not attention to the scientist behind the curtain. 😉

  • truthwalker

    Well, number one, and completely missing the point, science doesn’t believe it certainty. Also, there is no such thing as negative proof. All an atheist can scientifically say is “Defining proof as X, I see no proof.” Adams is correct in saying absolute statements belong to religion. The atheist should technically say “I find God very unlikely.”
    But that is demanding a form of clarity and precision from atheists disbelief that no one else’s disbelieve seems to require..Couldn’t you say the same thing about the tooth fairy? I mean to really conclusively say that in all times and places throughout the universe’s history there has never been a tooth fairy, wouldn’t I have to be God to do that as well? Yet, no one picks on A-toothfairists.)

    More to the point. Light a candle for St. Feynman.

  • Lottie

    The atheist should technically say “I find God very unlikely.”

    Thing is, that’s what I hear most atheists saying. It’s in the form of, “I see no reason to believe in the existence of god(s) and, therefore, choose not to.” The claim that atheists all over the world are shouting “There is not god!” is a straw man, really.

    I mean to really conclusively say that in all times and places throughout the universe’s history there has never been a tooth fairy, wouldn’t I have to be God to do that as well? Yet, no one picks on A-toothfairists.)

    Exactly! 😀

  • Postman

    Not only is it a straw man, but you’ll notice that theists say “shame, shame” and “atheism is just like religion”, but never actually have a coherent argument against said straw man. You’d expect, like Baldrick, that “These sacks (of straw) will be easy to outwit in a battle situation,” but the worst anyone ever seems to be able to do to them is wag a finger.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

