Watch Me Twitter

That sounds kind of creepy, doesn’t it? Although it could sound kinky if you were in the right mood.

I really didn’t think I would ever give in to this whole Twitter thingamajig, but what the hell. The hard part for me is being limited to 140 words. I have trouble just saying hello in 140 words! Maybe I can use it to practice getting to the point, if nothing else.

So anyway, here I am on Twitter (there’s also a link over yonder ::points right:: ) if you want to stalk me hunt me follow me, or whatever it is we’re supposed to do on this fancy schmancy twittering thing.

Any tips on how to make the best use of it are welcome and appreciated.

Cheers! And, uh… happy Twittering.

Edit: Not 140 words, but 140 characters. Had a brain fart there.

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

7 responses to “Watch Me Twitter

  • saintpaulgrrl

    I think that “twittering” loses some of its appeal when one doesn’t have a mobile device to twitter on. I don’t enjoy being in constant touch with the world at large 24/7 and didn’t even get text messaging on my basic cell phone. I only check in on Twitter from my home computer twice a day so I don’t know what people are up to minute by minute every time they post a “tweet!” Just call me a Luddite!

  • Lottie

    I have text messaging, but I don’t use it. It’s just part of a package. I hardly use my cell phone at all, even for talking. In fact, I only have it in case I need to be out while my son is at school, and they need to contact me for some reason. If it wasn’t for that, I wouldn’t have a cell phone at all.

    I told Mike that I’m not sure how much I’ll actually use Twitter. I’ve just heard so much… twittering lately that I thought I’d see what all the fuss is about.

    I know Gary uses it to promote his blog. As a writer, that could be useful. Maybe he’ll drop by and give us some feedback.

  • saintpaulgrrl

    I have a cell phone I hardly ever use, either. I have it for emergencies, which are few and far between. I broke down and got one ten years ago when I was spending hours on the freeway commuting 28 miles to work in rush-hour traffic and it came in handy then. I just kept it when I quit that nonsense but could easily do without it.

  • Lottie

    I hate it when I’m out with people and they’re constantly on their cell phones. I feel like a third wheel or something. When I was still working at the office, I went to lunch with three of my coworkers, and at one point, all three of them were on their phones at the same time. And I don’t mean taking a quick call to say they were with friends and would call back later. They were all chatting away, laughing and having a good old time with whoever was on the other end of the line.

    Is it just me, or is that rude?

  • saintpaulgrrl

    No, it’s not just you. I think that public cell phone use is rude in general, even more so when you’re suppose to be socially with other people. And I hate sitting next to someone on the bus who is yakking away and I can’t get away from overhearing the whole inane conversation!

  • Gary Murning

    I must admit, I haven’t had the courage/foolishness/whatever to activate my phone with twitter, yet — and I probably won’t! I’m in front of the computer all day and it’s good to get away from everything once the working day is over, so I don’t think it would be a good idea for me.

    Twitter in general, however, has a certain value. I tend to think of it as the Internet equivalent of the coffee machine in an office. A gathering/passing through place where individuals share gossip then dash off. I like it, and it is useful from a promotional point of view, but it isn’t one of those things that I couldn’t live without.

  • Lottie

    Bonnie: Same here. Some of the stuff I’ve learned about perfect strangers via their cell phone calls on the bus is frightening.

    Gary: Yep! Whether blogging or working, I spend a lot of time in front of the computer. I have no need or desire to drag it along with me when I go out. LOL

    So, do you just find people and start following them? Do you know of any Twitter etiquette? I just started following you and Bonnie because I know you both and didn’t figure either of you would mind.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

