Fargo

One of my favorite films of all time is Fargo. I love the black comedy and stereotypical Minnesota Nice. Guess I’m a sucker for absurd humor.

I watched Fargo again over the weekend. It was on Comedy Central and I was disappointed at how much was cut out. I went onto YouTube to try and find the deleted scenes (you’d think I would have it on DVD, huh?) and I couldn’t find specifically what I was looking for. I did find two of my favorite scenes, though, and thought I’d share them with you.

The scene in which Melissa Peterman plays a hooker has embedding disabled, but you can watch it here. Frances Dormand is brilliant throughout the film, although this scene doesn’t do her justice.

I just love the subtle Swedish influence in their speech! I guess I’m also a sucker for accents; ask my husband!

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

8 responses to “Fargo

  • saintpaulgrrl

    I love the movie Fargo, too, and do own my own DVD of it. Of course, I’m partial to it because I’ve been a resident of Minnesota for 32 years now. People really do talk like that around you, ya know! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • saintpaulgrrl

    I meant, “around HERE, ya know!”

  • Lottie

    I wondered what you would think of it. Glad to hear you like it. Yet another thing we have in common!

    Something else I thought was kind of funny in the clip I have embedded is when he looks up at the sky and says, “Looks like she’s gonna turn cold tomorrow.”

    They’re already in parkas and sweeping snow off the driveway, but it’s going “turn cold tomorrow”.

    Goes to show just how relative that really is, huh? ๐Ÿ˜†

  • saintpaulgrrl

    Yes, “cold” is a relative term. If it’s wintertime in Minnesota and the temperature is in the teens or above, it’s pretty nice weather. If it gets down into the single digits and below during the daylight hours, it’s getting pretty cold! Just thought I’d clarify that for you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Lottie

    If I have to wear long sleeves, it’s getting cold. Haha… Definitely relative.

  • saintpaulgrrl

    By the way, I’m going someplace WARM for Thanksgiving — San Antonio, Texas! Maybe I can shed my parka for a week! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Lottie

    I grew up in a small town just south of San Antonio. It will definitely feel warm to you, but don’t be surprised to hear natives complaining about how cold it is. You may even hear them say they’re “freezing”. ๐Ÿ˜†

  • saintpaulgrrl

    It can be pretty cold here by Thanksgiving with a measurable amount of snow on the ground by then. I’m sure it will be quite warm in San Antonio to me!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

