Thirty Day Experiment

I haven’t told you about our other blog yet, have I? It’s called Thirty Day Experiment. Here’s the idea taken from our About page, written by Mike:

The reason for the existence of the 30 Day Experiment is for us to challenge ourselves to live a little differently. If we can spend thirty days living in a way which is significantly different to the way we would live normally, maybe we can find it in ourselves to be ready to make positive changes and grow with time.

And, of course, it makes for some interesting blogging material!

The aim is to take one aspect of our lives, which must be fundamental in character like eating, and radically change something for a month. That’s it. We will record our thoughts, actions and reactions over the course of this time and hopefully leave an interesting document behind us.

We started this on September 1st, so this thirty day experiment is nearly over. Mike is living as a vegan and I have been doing yoga every day.

Yoga bendingThe reason yoga is so significant for me is because I have a medical condition which causes chronic joint and muscle pain. Mild exercise is good for me, but doing even a little too much can aggravate it and land me in bed for several days. Finding just the right balance and not crossing that very fine line can be quite difficult, but I think I’ve found it in a fifteen minute daily yoga routine for beginners.

I had planned to post daily updates like Mike does, but I quickly discovered that there’s not a lot to say about yoga on a daily basis, aside from the fact that I’ve done it. I’ve tried to post at least once a week, though, and my whopping six entries can be found here (read from the bottom of the page to the top for chronological order, of course).

Mike, on the other hand has been posting faithfully and I’m impressed with how well he’s doing. In his entries, you’ll find recipes, cooking tips, nutritional information and a lot of other interesting and useful stuff related to Veganism. You might be surprised at the many things you can do with tofu, and the many ways you can get a ‘meat fix’ when you want one.

I’m not sure what direction we’ll take at the end of this month. I’m a little bored with my yoga at this point, to be honest. But I know I need something, and with my condition I’m afraid to try anything else. If it works, don’t fix it, you know? But we’ll see how it goes and let you know when we decide. Suggestions are welcome, of course.

Thanks for following along.

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

13 responses to “Thirty Day Experiment

  • Mike

    πŸ˜€ I know what my next challenge is…

  • Lottie

    Are you going to share?

  • Postman

    Good for both of you.

    Personally, though, I’ve been a little leery of veganism since I went on a third, (and last), date with a former vegan a few years ago. We went to a vegan restaurant and, being the amusing and witty fellow I am, had her throwing her head back with laughter shortly after sitting down. Unfortunately for all concerned, (mostly her), there was a lit candle behind her. Her great mass of attractive red hair went up like a torch.
    The first she knew about it was when I leapt at her, cursing like a sailor, in order to beat out the flames. Now, every time I think about veganism, I can smell burning hair. Puts me right off.

  • saintpaulgrrl

    When I was in therapy for depression, this one of of the things my therapist challenged me to do: each day, do something different from the way you would normally do it. It could be something as simple as sleeping on the other side of the bed. The lesson was that I had to be willing to adapt and change, and I had to learn how to do it. Great lessons to learn! (I won’t tell you how I did! πŸ˜‰ )

  • Lottie

    Postman: Yeah, that might put me off just about anything. πŸ˜†

    Bonnie:
    Thanks for the support and encouragement, as always, and for sharing some of your own experience as well. I do appreciate you!

  • Lottie

    Oh, that’s right, Mike. I remember you telling me about that. Sorry… I was a bit out of it this morning.

  • Selena

    I think it’s great idea! It makes me feel like I need to do something positive for thirty days…nah j/k πŸ™‚

  • Lottie

    Thanks.

    I like your new picture, even though it makes me a little dizzy. Ha!

    And I love your curls! Wish I had ’em.

  • Heidi

    I left a note on the 30 day site….but, will here, too. I tried eating Raw for almost two weeks – – and while my body loved it, my brain had a harder time eating “good” when everyone else in the family was eating cooked. LOL!!
    It really is very easy and extremely benefitting. If you do decide to do it, let me know, it might be the motivation I need to do it again.
    πŸ˜‰

  • Lottie

    I’m not sure I could go Raw. I love the cooking smells too much. But I’ll let you know if I change my mind.

    . πŸ˜€

You must be logged in to post a comment.

