For Michael: We’ve Only Just Begun

Six months ago today, I married my very best friend and love of my life.

Mike and I have been in a long distance relationship for over seven years. We are deeply in love and committed to hanging on for as long as it takes to finally be together for good. Now that we are married, we’re a lot closer to that than we’ve ever been. The immigration process can be long and tedious, but considering everything we’ve already been through together, it’s a relatively minor bump in the road.

I love you, Michael, with all that I am and all that I have. I look forward to being with you again, and next time I won’t have to let you go after a few short weeks. We already have a beautiful, strong marriage that can withstand absolutely anything. And we’ve only just begun!

In celebration of our first six months as husband and wife, I dedicate this song to you, my Love:

We’ve only just begun to live
White lace and promises
A kiss for luck and we’re on our way
We’ve only just begun

Before the rising sun, we fly
So many roads to choose
We start out walking and learn to run
Yes, we’ve just begun

Sharing horizons that are new to us
Watching the signs along the way
Talking it over just the two of us
Working together day to day,

Together… Together…

And when the evening comes we smile
So much of life ahead
We’ll find a place where there’s room to grow
And yes, we’ve just begun

7 responses to “For Michael: We’ve Only Just Begun

  • Mike

    You’re the sweetest 🙂

    I know it’s only just begun, and we’ll have many more years together, and I’ll enjoy every minute of every day.

    With all that I am, and all that I have, I dedicate myself and my life to you.

  • Lottie

    With all that I am, and all that I have, I dedicate myself and my life to you.

    Oh sure. I dedicate a song and you dedicate your whole life. Way to one-up me. 😉

    But I’ll take it! I love you!

    Oh, I’m up now so you can call me if you want. 😀

  • saintpaulgrrl

    I hope that the immigration process proceeds as smoothly and quickly as possible.

    And that Karen Carpenter song is one of the sweetest and most beautiful songs of all time! That woman had the voice of an angel…

  • Lottie

    I hope that the immigration process proceeds as smoothly and quickly as possible.

    Thank you!

    And that Karen Carpenter song is one of the sweetest and most beautiful songs of all time! That woman had the voice of an angel…

    I love this song too. I thought it was perfect for the occasion. 😀

    Karen Carptenter is one of my all time favorite female vocalists. I knew she was a drummer, but I’d never actually seen her play the drums. She looks so natural… Too bad we lost her. 😦

  • saintpaulgrrl

    Yes, it’s very sad that the world lost Karen Carpenter when she was so young! She was such a talented woman.

  • Gary Murning

    Karen Carpenter was simply incredible — one of my favourites, too. Her lower register gives me goose bumps every time!

    I think, in the early days, she always played the drums whilst singing. She felt more comfortable sitting behind them. They provided a barrier, I suppose. And she played them so well! Huge talent.

    And so damn beautiful.

  • Lottie

    She looks so relaxed and natural playing the drums. I understand that she considered herself a drummer who could also sing, rather than a singer who played the drums. If singing was her secondary talent… Sheesh!

    Like you said, huge talent! And absolutely gorgeous!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

