Flashback Friday

I’ve been feeling a little down in the dumps this week, partly because I’ve been ill. But honestly, something else is bugging me too.

As the U.S. Presidential election draws near, there seems to be an increasing level of animosity between the two camps. I’ve been paying attention to politics since I was a little kid (my parents were very politically minded and made sure I knew what was going on even when I was very young) but I’ve never detected as much anger and hatred as I’m seeing this year.

Now, that could be down to the fact that I’m more aware of it this time because I’m blogging now and reading other people’s blogs. Nevertheless, it’s becoming quite intense, and in many ways that seem rather unnecessary in my opinion.

So, to get my mind off of it for a while, I was checking out some blogs that I know don’t discuss politics and stumbled across something that summed up the way I was feeling (I’m not going to link because of the problem I wrote about in the post below this one). It also took me back to a time when I was a bit more carefree. I loved this song in the 80’s, but it took on a whole new meaning when I heard it today.

It sounded a lot better vibrating through me on nightclub dance floor after a few Cape Cods than it does on YouTube, but anyway…

People Are PeopleDepeche Mode

People are people, so why should it be
You and I should get along so awfully?
People are people, so why should it be
You and I should get along so awfully?

So we’re different colours
And we’re different creeds
And different people
Have different needs
Its obvious you hate me
Though I’ve done nothing wrong
I’ve never even met you
So what could I have done?

I cant understand
What makes a man hate another man
Help me understand

People are people, so why should it be
You and I should get along so awfully?
People are people, so why should it be
You and I should get along so awfully?

Help me understand
Help me understand

Now you’re punching
And you’re kicking
And you’re shouting at me
And I’m relying on your common decency
So far it hasn’t surfaced
But I’m sure it exists
It just takes a while to travel
From your head to your fist (head to your fists)

I can’t understand
What makes a man hate another man
Help me understand

People are people, so why should it be
You and I should get along so awfully?
People are people, so why should it be
You and I should get along so awfully?

I can’t understand
What makes a man hate another man
Help me understand

I can’t understand
What makes a man hate another man
Help me understand

I can’t understand
What makes a man hate another man
I can’t understand (people are people)
What makes a man (why should it be)
Hate another man
Help me understand…

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

7 responses to “Flashback Friday

  • truthwalker

    Sorry you’re feeling sick, I hate that incurable not-sick-enough-to-get-out-of-work-too-sick-to-enjoy-work feeling. I agree, this elections is really odd. I heard a cashier get cursed out at Wal-Mart last week. The parting line was “We’ll see if you treat my people like this when we run this country, bitch!” Egads.

  • Lottie

    Thanks! I’m over the worst of it, but still not 100%.

    The parting line was “We’ll see if you treat my people like this when we run this country, bitch!” Egads.

    Holy cow! Lots of bitterness this time around. ::sigh::

    Hey, I’ll be catching up blog reading this weekend. Yours will be my first stop. 😀

  • Postman

    You’re inadvertantly showing my age, Lottie. I used to be quite a fan of DM. I flashed back, myself. 1986. Lone Star Amphitheatre, Houston, TX. Book of Love opened for them. The air reeked of clove cigarettes.

  • Lottie

    Sadly, I never got to see them live. But you just took me back again. DM, Book of Love and the smell of clove cigarettes. I can almost taste the Cape Cods now.

    You don’t want to know what I did to my hair that year.

  • Postman

    Probably no worse than the extreme “I’m so goddamned cool it hurts, which is why I take all these drugs” blond, surfer-cut I had.

  • Selena

    I haven’t heard this song in years! Great lyrics and message!

  • Lottie

    Postman: I may have had the same cut! Ha!

    Selena: I had a feeling you would like it! 😀

You must be logged in to post a comment.

