Lipstick Smears

Boy, the Obama haters are getting desperate!

Obama says, “You can put lipstick on a pig and it’s still a pig.”

This is obviously a sexist remark directed at Sarah Palin. What else could it possibly be?

I’m actually starting to feel embarrassed for these people. They’re grasping at straws here. The phrase “lipstick on a pig” is probably older than Obama and Palin combined (although possibly not McCain). It’s a common turn of phrase used by politicians of all varieties. As a matter of fact, John McCain spoke those exact same words when referring to Hillary Clinton’s health care plan:

There was one glaring problem with the argument: McCain himself used the exact same phrase to describe Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton’s health care plan just last year. “I think they put some lipstick on a pig, but it’s still a pig,” McCain said in October of 2007, describing Clinton’s universal health care plan when she was running in the Democratic primary. He also, in February 2007, used the phrase to describe conflict over a resolution on the Iraq War. “It gets down to whether you support what is being done in this new strategy or you don’t,” McCain said at the time. “You can put lipstick on a pig, [but] it’s still a pig, in my view.”

Washington Post — The Trail

Did any of these same people cry sexism then? Of course not. The words were uttered by someone they’re in love with and directed at someone they despise. And that means that it can’t possibly be sexist or wrong in any way.

Doublethink at its finest.

It’s sad to watch. The Obama haters don’t even seem to realize how pathetic and desperate they look. Their favorite smears have been debunked, so now they’re desperately clinging to a metaphorical tube of lipstick like a drowning man to a life preserver.

Why would they keep repeating the same old debunked smears over and over again anyway? It’s almost as if they don’t have any legitimate dirt on Obama. I’m not saying Obama’s perfect; it’s just very curious.

So, back to the typical right-wing double standard: John McCain uses a particular turn of phrase and it’s fine and dandy. Barack Obama uses the exact same turn of phrase and it makes him a sexist.

And the phrase is a common one, so much so that Torie Clarke, the former Pentagon communications director in the Bush administration — a Republican and a woman — named her book “Lipstick on a Pig: Winning in a No-Spin Era by Someone Who Knows the Game.”

Washington Post — The Trail

One of the stupidest responses I’ve seen to Obama’s alleged sexism was by someone who said, “[…] anyone who hasn’t been living in a cave knows that the ‘lipstick’ line is directly associated with Palin.”

Sorry, Cavewoman, but anyone who hasn’t been living in a cave knows that the “lipstick line” predates Palin by several generations at least.

But the funniest and most ironic response I’ve seen was by another woman suggesting that “ALL WOMEN SEND OBAMA OUR LIPSTICK!!!!” to send a message. Yeah, because assuming that all women even wear lipstick isn’t sexist at all.

Geniuses, the lot.

And while we’re on the subject of sexism, I wonder what the Obama haters think about John McCain calling his own wife a trollop (in reference to her makeup) and a cunt?

[…] Cindy playfully twirled McCain’s hair and said, “You’re getting a little thin up there.” McCain’s face reddened, and he responded, “At least I don’t plaster on the makeup like a trollop, you cunt.” McCain’s excuse was that it had been a long day. If elected president of the United States, McCain would have many long days.

Drudge Retort

I’ve been wondering, for quite some time, what McCain supporters think of this. I keep asking, but they won’t tell me. It’s almost as if they were in denial or something.

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

15 responses to “Lipstick Smears

  • Mike

    I read about this, and I thought it was a case of reaching and being deliberately “offended”, too.

    The hypocrisy is rather unpleasant.

  • bscoobies

    Lottie,

    I don’t hate Obama Bin Biden but if McCain actually spoke those words to his wife, then I find it repulsive and disgusting. No one should ever speak that way to anyone.

    The “lipstick on a pig” line can certainly be used, or alluded to, in a derogatory way if one is only mildly crafty. I think Obama knew what he was doing on that one.

    If you don’t think his comment was out of line, then you certainly won’t find this offensive:

    “Obama, your wife wears lipstick, right?
    Does she like bacon? She does? You know, they say you are what you eat.”

    Timotheus

  • Lottie

    Not offended at all. On the contrary, I find it rather amusing. It reveals the true mentality of someone who thinks he’s clever, as do most of your comments.

  • bscoobies

    Lottie,

    I know that Mike is very clever, because he said so on his blog, and that he likes bacon.

    Timotheus

  • bscoobies

    Lottie,

    ….and that is how the Obama shuffle is done.

    Timotheus

  • Lottie

    See what I mean, folks? 😆

  • Selena

    “But the funniest and most ironic response I’ve seen was by another woman suggesting that “ALL WOMEN SEND OBAMA OUR LIPSTICK!!!!” to send a message. Yeah, because assuming that all women even wear lipstick isn’t sexist at all.”

    And if they do wear lipstick they are girly-girls.

    I wish I could be more interested in politics. As a believer other believers think I should be Republican, but I think I may be more of a Republicrat or Demolican. I dunno. I like Sarah Palin and I don’t trust Obama. I am not that smart to keep up with all of it. People like me is why America is jacked up. For PC people, I love America, that was a joke.

  • Lottie

    And if they do wear lipstick they are girly-girls.

    Right! Like, totally! 😉

    As to the rest of it, if you’re not interested in politics, that’s OK too. At least you’re not being lead around by people who want to dictate what you “should” be.

    People like me is why America is jacked up.

    I SO needed that laugh! You don’t even know how much!

    Thanks for commenting! 😀

  • riggword

    Hello there “Friend”

    So, now I see where this all came from.
    Interesting to say the least.

    You guys have it all wrong.

    This is not about hate. This resistance I have to Obama is about substance, policy, and liberal vs, conservative politics. And seeing Obama for who he really is. So forgive me for my stance.

    Mike, your last post at my blog makes sense now.
    Lottie, I kinda thought this was what you were really thinking.

    And Serena, Thanks for the I don’t trust Obama comment; Hmm does that make you an Obama Hater as well?

    Just so you all know I am not an Obama Hater. I know it may seems hard to believe and perhaps you won’t and that is ok as well.

    Sorry, I had to jump over to this blog to see who was calling me an Obama Hater, just curious.

    You definately won’t find me hear again.

    God Bless,
    riggword

  • Selena

    Hi Rigg,
    If you reread my comment it has nothing to do with you, but I feel like you are unfairly attacking me. I am not just friends with Christian Republicans. I am friends with all types of people who have a different world view. I think every person in my life is here for a reason and to teach me something. And if being Lottie’s friend and commenting on her blog causes you to reject me, so be it. I wish you the best.
    Selena

  • Lottie

    It’s called being facetious, Rigg.

    Besides, you say over and over at your blog that your goal is to keep Obama out of the White House. Not necessarily to support McCain, but to destroy Obama.

    Mike, your last post at my blog makes sense now.

    Really? I don’t quite see the connection between this and Mike’s comment at your blog. I know what it said even though you didn’t allow it. Mike is my husband.

    So much for that little innuendo, huh?

    Lottie, I kinda thought this was what you were really thinking.

    You “kinda thought”? How did you not know? It’s not as if I hadn’t said every bit of this on your blog before I posted it here. I never tried to hide where I stand on any of this, Rigg, so don’t even try to go there. It’s just that, unlike you, apparently, I believe it’s possible to be friendly with people and show them respect even when we don’t agree on everything.

    No, Rigg, you are the one who pretended to be something you’re not. So you can stop with the insinuations that it was me.

    And Serena, Thanks for the I don’t trust Obama comment; Hmm does that make you an Obama Hater as well?

    There’s quite a difference between saying you don’t trust someone and making it your life’s mission to destroy that person. Selena and I disagree on quite a few things, but that doesn’t mean we can’t be friendly. She is a very nice person with whom I share some things in common. I’m not so in love with Obama that I base friendships on who likes him and who doesn’t. That’s another area where you and I differ.

    Just so you all know I am not an Obama Hater. I know it may seems hard to believe and perhaps you won’t and that is ok as well.

    Why do you even care what I think?

    Sorry, I had to jump over to this blog to see who was calling me an Obama Hater, just curious.

    But you already knew. You said so on your blog two days ago. So that can’t really be the reason you stopped by, now can it?

    Perhaps it was to try and bring division by suggesting that any of this post was directed at Selena just because she doesn’t trust or support Obama and to try and drag her into the middle of our dispute. Well, I certainly won’t be the one to put her in that position. I don’t believe that’s the kind of thing a real friend would do.

    Besides, Selena has more important things on her mind right now. If you weren’t so obsessed with destroying Barak Obama, you might have taken a minute or two to notice.

    Or did you stop by to try and discredit me by making insinuations that I had mislead you as to my political leanings? That would be ridiculous, though, seeing as it’s plastered all over my blog and all my comments contain a link. Besides that, I’m not the least bit ashamed of it.

    No, you are the one who mislead me, Rigg. I told you from the beginning that I wasn’t a McCain supporter or even a Christian. You kept assuring me that it was fine and encouraging me to share my views. Then the minute I did, you made an about-face, told me to get lost and even after asking me to leave, continued to trash talk me and allow other readers to do the same.

    Real nice, Rigg. Absolutely darling.

    You definately won’t find me hear again.

    So you just decided to drop by, take a dump on my blog and leave me to clean it up? How nice.

    But thanks for showing your true colors. Finally.

    By the way, for someone who told me repeatedly that none of this is personal, you seem to be taking it rather personally.

  • Lottie

    Hey Selena! It’s great to hear from you! I’ve been checking your blog and my email for updates from you. I’ll head over to yours right now!

  • Lottie

    Rigg,

    Since you won’t allow me to comment on your blog, I want to clarify yet another misleading innuendo you’ve made about me and/or Mike:

    No one “threatened” you with a complaint process. It was pointed out to you that it wasn’t very nice to ask me to stop commenting on your blog and then continue trash talking me. Then it was pointed out to you that a comment made by someone else — not you — was libelous (slander in the written form). You were then asked to please take care of it to avoid having your blog suspended for a TOS violation.

    That was a courtesy to you, Rigg. We could have just gone straight to WordPress with it, but we thought giving you a chance to make it right was the decent thing to do. And then you repay us with more trash talk. Nice.

    Tell you what I’ll just post the comment in question right here:

    By: Mike on September 12, 2008
    at 11:59 pm

    Your comment is awaiting moderation.

    Rigg: I’ve resisted commenting so far because I thought Lottie had everything well in hand, but this recent action of yours forces me to. It is simply unacceptable, both morally and according to the WordPress terms of service. You’ve allowed an attack on Lottie without allowing her to defend herself, which is morally dubious; you have allowed a definite libel in the form of the lie that she “admits to being a liar”, which is a TOS violation.

    We are definitely considering reporting this to WordPress, and they take trolling and libellous statements very seriously. Your blog might end up suspended, if the issue were pressed. Please take care of this as soon as possible.

    See? No threats. Just more of your typical exaggerated claims.

    But you removed the libelous comment as requested, so the problem is solved. It’s really that simple; no big deal. This is the way mature adults negotiate solutions to problems. So you can stop overreacting and deleting everything on your blog over one comment.

    Good grief!

  • Stupider And Stupider « Rambling On

    […] 13, 2008 Not only was Obama accused of sexism for using a common turn of phrase, he’s now being accused of attacking the disabled. Here’s […]

  • Setting The Record Straight « Rambling On

    […] has been freaking out ever since. He’s commented here, making all kinds of insinuations about me, implying that I had been less than forthcoming in […]

You must be logged in to post a comment.

