Flashback Friday

Today I would like to share a story from a galaxy far, far away and long, long ago. Well, it was only about four years ago and across the ocean, but anyway…

When I was in England visiting Mike, one night we were in our bedroom with the window open. The pubs had just closed, and someone passing by outside our window had apparently been out on the piss. We deduced this when out of the silence we suddenly heard a man shout, “Fuck off back to Scotland, you bloody Scottish bastard!”

Mike and I fell over on the bed laughing our heads off! The (presumably) drunk man then broke out singing a tune I immediately recognized, although I couldn’t make out the words he was slurring. This is what he was singing:

Sound familiar, my fellow countrymen?

I thought it would be interesting for today’s Flashback to take a look at the roots of what served as a de facto national anthem of the United States for much of the 19th century.

Ironic, innit?

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

You must be logged in to post a comment.

