My Husband Is Better Than God

Dswerling, author of One Christian’s Journey, wrote a post back in May entitled What Atheists Really Want. When I saw that title, I thought, “Oh great! Another Christian who thinks s/he knows my mind better than I do”. They’re not exactly in short supply.

But this one actually nailed it:

What they want is one thing: good old fashioned proof. […] They want academic, reasoned, logical study with as much empirical proof as possible […]

Bingo! What more can I say?

Of course, Dswerling goes on to admit that we’ll never likely get that kind of proof because, well, Christians simply don’t have it. It’s a matter of faith or trust, if you will, which brings me to the reason I felt the need to write this post:

Faith is a form of trust; trust in God or Jesus or Allah or Zeus or Ra or any other deity you pick, but at its heart all faith is trust that somehow things are going to work out just fine in the end, in one way or another. I think even a lot of Atheists certainly have this trust, they just can’t reconcile it to trust in something greater, a reality above the reality that we observe in the physical world. However, this is a personal issue for everyone. After all, how would you ever find scientific proof that say, your mother or girlfriend or wife or father or boyfriend or husband loved you? How would you ever truly know another person was trustworthy? You simply cannot know, you are left with an act of faith on some level, and no one ever talks of finding scientific reasoning for these trust issues. So if we aren’t trying to scientifically prove why we can trust our mother or father or any other humble human, why would we bother trying to scientifically prove why we can trust the infinite creator of the universe?

[emphasis mine]

What Atheists Really Want

I would like to begin by addressing the last sentence there.

I have never seen or heard an atheist ask anyone to prove “why we can trust the infinite creator of the universe”. Dswerling may well have broken the record for the most logical fallacies crammed into one sentence. Here we have the terribly worn out strawman, the exhausted red herring and the boring false analogy, all of it paired with some question begging. I may have left out a few, but I think that’ll do for now, don’t you?

I’m not interested in proof for why we can trust any number of gods (or the Christian deity in this case) simply because I’m still waiting to see even a shred of evidence that any of them even exists.

With that out of the way, I will now answer the question of how I can possibly know that my husband is trustworthy and that he loves me. I’ll start by declaring that I am so confident in this that I will stand Mike up against God without hesitation or doubt.

Before I go into the issue of trust, I would like to point out that I know for certain Mike exists. Many other people know for certain that Mike exists. There is even legally documented evidence of Mike’s existence. I have thoroughly examined Mike with all five of my senses and I can assure you that he does, in fact, exist. That puts him miles ahead of God right from the starting line.

But how do I know that he loves me or that he’s trustworthy?

Well, for a start, I can actually hear him tell me that he loves me, uncountable times on any given day. I’ve never heard a peep out of God. I can call Mike at any time of the day or night and he is there for me. He listens to me and talks back to me, audibly. He offers practical solutions to problems, comforts me and gives of himself to help. God remains silent, too narcissistic to do so much as clear his throat just to let you know he hasn’t hung up on you.

Mike is consistent; he does what he says he’s going to do. He keeps his word and honors his obligations and responsibilities. That’s part of what makes him trustworthy. The god of the Bible is not true to his word; it makes promises and doesn’t keep them.

Mike has traveled, on several occasions, half-way across the globe to be with me, to spend time with me. He has done this at considerable cost, both financially and personally. He has made the same sacrifices, on two different occasions, to purchase airfare for me and our son to go and be with him in England. God hasn’t bothered to show his face to me in a single bush, even though it wouldn’t cost him anything to do it.

When I am in a financial bind, Mike doesn’t feed me some self-serving shite like, “Be still and know that I am your Husband; My grace is sufficient unto thee”. When I’m short on the rent, he sends cash via MoneyGram. Of course, one might argue that money can’t buy me love, and that’s not my point in mentioning this. But it does show that Mike is trustworthy (he sends money when he says he will, and he’s not rich by any stretch) and he’s not paying rent for strangers off the street. Paying the rent is more than God ever did for me.

But that’s not all Mike does. When we’re together and I’m hungry, he makes me food (and I’m not talking about taking credit for a neighbor bringing a casserole). When I’m thirsty, he brings me a drink. When I’m in pain, he massages me. I don’t have to ask or even know that he’s entered the room, and I’m not required to give anything in return or tell anyone that he did it.

When Mike goes to the shops, he brings me chocolate. He sings me love songs. When I cry, he cries. When I laugh, he laughs. I can count on finding a sweet email in my inbox every morning. I don’t have to wonder if he’s there or if he’s interested in me. Heck, just read his blog. You won’t get through more than a couple of posts at a time without seeing my name mentioned and hearing about how beautiful and wonderful I am.

I could go on and on listing ways that my husband shows his love for me. Does any of it prove, “scientifically” and beyond a doubt, that he loves me? Of course not. But the evidence is rather overwhelming in favor of his loving me and being trustworthy. Believing this does not require faith in the same way that faith is required to believe in God. That is a false analogy: apples and oranges.

When I see a shred of evidence (and take note: warm fuzzies are not evidence) supporting the existence of this alleged “infinite creator of the universe”, then we can move on to discussing whether or not it’s trustworthy. In the mean time, it would be nice if people like Dswerling would exhibit even a tiny bit of intellectual honesty by not making such blatantly fallacious arguments in a pathetic attempt to validate faith (trust) in something that they freely admit cannot be proven to exist.

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

19 responses to “My Husband Is Better Than God

  • Mike

    Woot! At last, the recognition I deserve!

  • astroramen

    I don’t understand. What if your husband dies? He won’t be there to comfort you, but God will, because He is forever.

    If you are hurting inside, a husband can try to ease the pain, but God will. You don’t have to ask God if he’s in the room, because you know he’s always there.

    I’m praying for you. How do I know my God is real? He has healed my pain, he has brought me many friends, and given me the gift of writing and music.

    Just in the same way you have to interact with your husband to get him to like you, you have to talk to God to get this “proof” you speak of.

    Scientists take something as true if there are at least three pieces of supporting evidence. There are ten thousands of manuscripts and evidence that the Bible is true.

    I’ll be praying that He opens your eyes.

    Tevin

  • Lottie

    Tevin,

    You have clearly missed the entire point of my post. Nevertheless, I will respond:

    I don’t understand. What if your husband dies? He won’t be there to comfort you, but God will, because He is forever.

    This argument assumes that God exists in the first place, which is the number one problem addressed in my post. It’s called begging the question or circular reasoning. I linked to an explanation in my post.

    If you are hurting inside, a husband can try to ease the pain, but God will. You don’t have to ask God if he’s in the room, because you know he’s always there.

    No I do not know that, and neither do you. Part of the number one problem addressed in my post.

    I’m praying for you. How do I know my God is real? He has healed my pain, he has brought me many friends, and given me the gift of writing and music.

    How do you know God did all that? What about the people who haven’t been as fortunate? Does God not like them as much? Are they less deserving?

    Just in the same way you have to interact with your husband to get him to like you, you have to talk to God to get this “proof” you speak of.

    First of all, I do not have to do anything to “get my husband to like me”. In fact, he loves me in spite of my many faults and shortcomings.

    Secondly, you are assuming that I have never made an effort to speak with God.

    Scientists take something as true if there are at least three pieces of supporting evidence.

    Where did you get that precious little gem? I’ve never heard it before.

    There are ten thousands of manuscripts and evidence that the Bible is true.

    Really? Show me one.

    I’ll be praying that He opens your eyes.

    My eyes are wide open. But feel free to pray for me to win the lottery.

    But like I said in the closing of my post, first show me evidence that your god exists. Until you can do that, it doesn’t even make sense to discuss its attributes.

    –Lottie

  • astroramen

    Lottie,

    I could go back and forth on this one, and neither of us can win if you are that stubborn.

    Before I go,

    “How do you know God did all that? What about the people who haven’t been as fortunate? Does God not like them as much? Are they less deserving?”

    God loves everyone the same. You have to know that God has a plan. Those who are less fortunate are part of that plan.

    It says in the Bible that the less you have on Earth, the more you have in Heaven.

    I am very offended by you asking for me to pray for you to win the lottery, but, if that’s what you want, God is a giving God. That’s between you and Him. I prayed to win tickets at a bible camp, and I was given stamina to win the game for the tickets to six flags. I ran farther and longer and faster that I ever did, and it was not because of “adrenaline”. God is a giving God.

    “Secondly, you are assuming that I have never made an effort to speak with God.” To this I have to say that if my assumption was correct, God wants to talk to you, and if I was wrong, I apologize, and I hope there are more “efforts” in your future.

    I hope you and your husband have a great life living together and avoid divorce. Also, God has told me that I will see you both in Heaven, where the streets are paved with gold.

    “People don’t ask for evidence of things in textbooks,
    But they question the Bible,
    Miles more known than a stupid textbook.
    Textbooks are updated,
    But the Word is solid as a rock.”
    -Alicia Sutton

    Tevin

  • Lottie

    I could go back and forth on this one, and neither of us can win if you are that stubborn.

    So wanting evidence rather than accepting something on blind faith is being stubborn? Are you stubborn for not believing in the Abatwa that live in my backyard?

    Before I go,

    “How do you know God did all that? What about the people who haven’t been as fortunate? Does God not like them as much? Are they less deserving?”

    God loves everyone the same. You have to know that God has a plan. Those who are less fortunate are part of that plan.

    It says in the Bible that the less you have on Earth, the more you have in Heaven.

    So then what makes you so sure that all your good fortune came from God? Is he trying to rob you of your heavenly riches?

    It kind of sounds like you want to eat your cake and have it with that one.

    I am very offended by you asking for me to pray for you to win the lottery

    Well, I’m offended by your saying that you would pray for my eyes to be open, so I guess we’re even.

    but, if that’s what you want, God is a giving God. That’s between you and Him. I prayed to win tickets at a bible camp, and I was given stamina to win the game for the tickets to six flags. I ran farther and longer and faster that I ever did, and it was not because of “adrenaline”. God is a giving God.

    You’re right! It wasn’t adrenaline. It was the Flying Spaghetti Monster. He heard your prayer, felt compassion for you and touched you with his noodly appendages. That’s how you won the race.

    The Flying Spaghetti Monster is not a jealous God. Although you were praying to the wrong god, the almighty FSM knows it’s not your fault, but a result of the culture you were brought up in, so He doesn’t hold it against you.

    Praise the Flying Spaghetti Monster!

    RAmen!

    “Secondly, you are assuming that I have never made an effort to speak with God.” To this I have to say that if my assumption was correct, God wants to talk to you, and if I was wrong, I apologize, and I hope there are more “efforts” in your future.

    I hope you and your husband have a great life living together and avoid divorce.

    Because atheists are more prone to divorce? More from the pulpit, I presume.

    Also, God has told me that I will see you both in Heaven, where the streets are paved with gold.

    So we’re all set then. No change (belief) required! That’s good news! Thanks!

    “People don’t ask for evidence of things in textbooks

    Yes they most certainly do. Just because something is in a textbook, doesn’t make it so. I would encourage all students to question everything. It’s kind of what school is for.

  • astroramen

    Nice talking to you, Lottie.

  • Lottie

    Tens of thousands of manuscripts that serve as evidence that the Bible is true, and you can’t even show me one?

    Oh well, the Flying Spaghetti Monster loves you!

  • forknowledge

    This is a great post. The ‘how can you know your husband/wife/whatever loves you?’ argument must be one of the weakest out there (among dozens of worthy contendors), yet it pops up time and time again. I’m glad someone has taken the time to lay out exactly what’s wrong with it.

    It boggles my mind that theists will start an argument with ‘I have no proof, in any form, that God exists, but…’ and expect anyone to take them seriously.

  • Lottie

    It boggles my mind that theists will start an argument with ‘I have no proof, in any form, that God exists, but…’ and expect anyone to take them seriously.

    Amazing, isn’t it? And yet many of them perfectly understand the absurdity of believing in any other god…

    Thanks for commenting! Stop by any time.

  • forknowledge

    Will do. I like the tag line at the top of your blog. Where’s it from? I tried Googling it, but just got your blog twenty or so times. (The name ‘Euripides’ also vaugely rings a bell, but I had to check Wikipedia to refresh my memory. Ah, the internet!)

  • Lottie

    You know, I don’t remember for certain where I found that quote. It may have come from Free Thought Quotes at Liberty Tree. That’s the page I have bookmarked anyway. I dug through it quite a bit, though, so I couldn’t possibly tell which page it’s on.

    There’s a lot of good stuff there! I had a hard time deciding. In the end it was a toss up between that one and, “Always stand on principle, even if you stand alone.” I can’t remember who said that one, though.

  • Postman

    My Dear Woman,

    I think you have inadvertently proved that Mike is God.

    1) Mike does the things attributed to God.
    2) Mike is demonstrably real.
    3) QED, Ipso Facto, &tc.

    Congratulations.

  • Lottie

    I can see the headlines now:

    God Marries Atheist Woman

    Thanks! 😀

  • Postman

    Well, it’s a little-known fact that His ex-wife, Mary, divorced Him on the grounds that she was an atheist.

  • Lottie

    I guess you’ve got all the dirt on the those two. You know, reading their postcards and all. 😉

  • truthwalker

    One of the things that always bummed me out when I was a Christian was the fact that when I was loving to my wife that was God working in me, but when I was a wank, that was all me. Believing that if there is a God he doesn’t give two shits about me is the best thing that ever happened to my marriage! Its a lot more fun to be kind and loving when I am allowed to feel like I did something good instead of feeling like I was just a pretty ordinary vessel that God put something good in.

    “People don’t ask for evidence of things in textbooks”
    Um, well some people don’t. We call them Creation Scientists. Sorry, I’m allowed to say that because DID ask questions about my (Christian) textbooks and was told that the textbook writers heart was in the right place so the error was forgivable.

  • Lottie

    Excellent comments! I wouldn’t add a thing!

    By the way, after I saw your comment, I went to my blogroll to click over to you and your link wasn’t there. I was switching a bunch of stuff around a couple of days ago and must have lost you in the shuffle by mistake. Sorry about that. Didn’t want you to think I’d done it on purpose.

    Always good to hear from you.

  • Heidi

    “Praise the Flying Spaghetti Monster!

    RAmen!”

    Dude! If I’da had a mouth full of tea…. 😉
    I had to wake my hubby up for that one.
    We’re not worthy….we’re not worthy….LOL!! 🙂

  • Lottie

    Always glad to be of service. 😆

You must be logged in to post a comment.

