Flashback Friday

I can’t remember the last time I saw a cigarette ad on television. Maybe I never did.

Check out the Flintstones selling Winston. And smoking them! It’s weird since we’re not used to seeing ads like this, but it’s kind of funny too!

Posted by Lottie — Copyright © 2008 Rambling On

2 responses to “Flashback Friday

  • saintpaulgrrl

    I’m 53 years old, and I remember watching these ads as a kid. Fred and Barney smoking Winstons? Oh yeah! I think Wilma and Betty came out to where the guys were and lit up, too! I remember the Marlboro Man. I remember all those ads on TV. We used to be able to buy candy cigarettes at the local store. The white sugary candy was bad, but we would pretend to smoke them.

    I’m glad those days are over. Yet there are still far too many adolescents taking up the nicotine habit, and many of them will be lifelong smokers because quitting is just too hard.

  • Lottie

    We used to get the candy cigarettes too! And bubble gum cigars. Weird stuff to remember.

    And everyone smoked on TV. Lucy and Ricky could make it look so glamorous, couldn’t they?

    Thanks for stopping by! Always nice to see ya! 😀

You must be logged in to post a comment.

