My Beatlemania

I grew up listening to The Beatles. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t know their music or their names. My mother would play them on 45 rpm records while we were home. When were out in the car, we listened to them on 8-track tapes. I remember singing along with The Beatles when I was small enough that I could stand up on the front seat of my dad’s 1969 Mustang.

She loves you, yeah, yeah, yeah…

She was just seventeen, and you know what I mean…

Man, that takes me back.

The Beatles were fun and exciting. In the midst of a rather turbulent childhood, they were a constant reminder that there were other ways of thinking and being and other places to go in the world. Even after all these years, their music makes me happy and upbeat. It is utterly timeless.

I’m not really sure what the purpose of this post is. I’ve been listening to The Beatles and John Lennon’s solo music for the past couple of days, so I guess that’s where my mind is right now.

Browsing through YouTube, I did come across a great song that made me think of my small circle of blogging friends; those who have been supportive and encouraging through some stressful and difficult times (even when they didn’t realize it). In closing, I dedicate this song to them. I’m sure they know who they are (that includes you, Honey).

3 responses to “My Beatlemania

  • Selena

    Love the Beatles too! My mother was a huge music fan. Did you like Paul McCartney & Wings?

    My all time Beatle favorite:

    So melancholy.

  • Lottie

    Oh yeah! I liked Paul McCartney & Wings. I liked George Harrison’s solo stuff a lot too. I know Ringo did a little solo work, but I’m not familiar with any of it. I’m especially fond of John, though. I suppose I relate to him the most.

    Eleanor Rigby! Excellent! One of my favorites too! 😀

  • Lottie

    Just found this:

    The Beatles asked Starr to join once they had something to offer that he didn’t have already: a record contract. Lennon said of Starr:

    “Ringo was a star in his own right in Liverpool before we even met. He was a professional drummer who sang and performed and had Ringo Starr-time and he was in one of the top groups in Britain but especially in Liverpool before we even had a drummer … Ringo’s a damn good drummer.”

    Drummer Steve Smith said:

    “Before Ringo, drum stars were measured by their soloing ability and virtuosity. Ringo’s popularity brought forth a new paradigm in how the public saw drummers. We started to see the drummer as an equal participant in the compositional aspect. One of Ringo’s great qualities was that he composed unique, stylistic drum parts for the Beatles songs. His parts are so signature to the songs that you can listen to a Ringo drum part without the rest of the music and still identify the song.”

    Wikipedia

You must be logged in to post a comment.

