Lost: One Best Friend

For our Idiosyncratica challenge this month, Mike suggested we write a drabble, which is a short story written in exactly 100 words. I was terrified at first, but it turned out to be quite fun.

So, I will now introduce my very first drabble entitled, Lost: One Best Friend:

Julz asked me why I stayed. Why would she accuse me this way? I might not have known she was blaming me. It almost sounded like she cared; like she loved me. Good thing They told me about this.

All these years I thought Julz was on my side. She made a good show of it, for sure. Now I know she blames me. That’s not love.

But where will I go now? Julz was I all had. But They care! They’re the ones who warned me about people like Julz.

What’s that new sign in their window?

Victims Wanted?

10 responses to “Lost: One Best Friend

  • Mike

    I like it, Honey. You’ve left me with the impression that the narrator is unreliable and that she is being manipulated; in fact, if I didn’t know that it was a she, I’d be forced to guess, because the narrator is never clearly defined as a he or she, not to mention that the situation is not defined, either. The narrator functions as a tabula rasa onto whom readers can project their own imagining.

    Good stuff 🙂

  • Lottie

    Well, if that’s how it strikes you, I’ve done well.

    Then again, you already knew… lol

  • Will Rhodes

    Good stuff! 😀

  • Gary Murning

    This says it it all so succinctly, Lottie. It’s almost Orwellian in its sense of a brain thoroughly washed! Great stuff.

  • Lottie

    Thank you, Gary! 😀

  • kallioppe

    Lottie, I’m with Gary on the creepy brain washed stuff. Good drabble. Amazing how 100 wds can get a point across.

  • Lottie

    It is amazing! I wondered how I was going to pull it off. Like I said at Gary’s blog, it requires the use of innuendo/insinuation. That’s hard for me because I’m usually so direct.

    And rambling on is more my style. 😉

    Thanks for commenting!

  • Gessy

    What’s nice about this piece is how much we can extrapolate from the little bits of information you’ve provided and develop a keen sense of character. You can definitely take this character and put her in other uncomfortable situations. I would love to see how far you can take the voice.

  • Lottie

    Hi, Gessy!

    I’ll definitely give it some more thought. Thank you for the encouragement.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

