Lazy Sunday Round-up

Sundays are my lazy days, and I tend more to browse other people’s blogs than to write anything for my own. I find all kinds of interesting (and occasionally disturbing) things along the way, and have decided to start sharing some of them here. I will call these entries my Lazy Sunday Round-ups, as Sundays find me too lazy to even come up with a different title once a week.

So here is what I do while drinking too much coffee and eating breakfast tacos on Sunday mornings:

My friend, Gary Murning, has posted an excellent short story he wrote a few years ago. He also posted a very thought-provoking piece about consciousness. You really must check out both of these.

Ed Darrell, author of Millard Filmore’s Bathtub, has written a post about bloggers’ rights. Anyone who owns a blog or simply enjoys reading other people’s blogs should be interested in this particular post. Millard Filmore’s Bathtub focuses on “striving for accuracy in history, economics, geography, education, and a little science”. Great blog!

Mike, author of The Odd Blog and darling husband of Yours Truly, wrote a very heart-warming post last week. This morning he wrote about how his wife is trying to killing him. It’s actually a right fine fisking entitled Fools, damned fools and Christians. Very entertaining!

Was the US founded on Christian principles? Soulbiscuit, author of Allusions of Grandeur provides a succinct, yet thorough response to this question. You should also check out this comic while you’re there.

Truthwalker wrote a very nice post about the Christian doctrine: Love the sinner; hate the sin. He explains quite well, in my opinion, how hating what some call sin can create real barriers to actually loving the “sinner”. While you’re there, you’ll definitely want to read Gothic (Goth) Manifesto, where Truthwalker describes the experience of having his “arms and legs sawn off to fit the [Christian] suit”. Excellent piece that I can personally relate to.

That’s all I have time for if I’m going to catch the next bus to McDonald’s.

One response to “Lazy Sunday Round-up

You must be logged in to post a comment.

