Praying For Rain On The 4th Of July

OK, so I’m not actually praying; I just thought it would make a cute title. But I do hope it pisses down buckets so that all the fireworks displays are rained out. That’s terribly unpatriotic, isn’t it? Would it be even less patriotic to say I don’t give a shit? Either way, I don’t.

I’ve never been what you might call patriotic. As early as the second grade, I was already annoyed by having to recite the Pledge of Allegiance. Of course, that probably had more to do with the fact that I didn’t understand what the hell I was saying. Even at that early age, I was troubled by the fact that we were all made to perform this ritual with no explanation for what it all meant. Which, by the way, made it all pretty damn meaningless. Unless, of course, the intent was to irritate the crap out of a seven-year-old girl on a daily basis.

But that’s not the point. The purpose of this post is not political, but practical.

Fireworks are dangerous.

There’s a reason for having fire fighters and paramedics on stand-by at the legal, organized fireworks displays. And there’s a reason for laws against private citizens setting off fireworks in their front yards and the streets. But people do it every year.

My son’s best friend lives across the street. His family does it. I hate to tell my son that he can’t join them; to make him watch from our front porch but not participate. But what if the police come around and start issuing citations? If they happen by at the precise moment that my son is waving a sparkler around, will I have to pay a fine?

More importantly, it’s been very dry this summer. No-one has turned on a lawnmower in my neighborhood since March. There’s no need, because it’s too dry for grass to grow. That creates a serious fire hazard, folks. But will that stop my neighbors from shooting off fireworks? I seriously doubt it.

Anyway, we got a light rain on Tuesday and a little more last night. The ground is still a bit damp, in fact. If it would start pouring rain right around dark, all my problems would be solved and I could enjoy the holiday without the disruption of fireworks flying over my house.

But then they’ll just shoot them off tomorrow night, or as soon as the weather clears up again. It seems I’m out numbered.

Happy 4th of July.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

