Poisoning The Well With NPD

From the rumor mill:

Many of us have commented from time to time that Obama may not just suffer from an egregious lack of humility…he may indeed suffer from a full-blown case of “narcissistic personality disorder” as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).

Dark Skies Blog

I know more than a little bit about Narcissistic Personality Disorder (NPD). I will not discuss the details because they are far too personal, but I will tell you this:

It is impossible to know if Barack Obama, or anyone for that matter, meets the criteria for NPD without spending a considerable amount of time with the person. Many of the characteristics of this disorder are only revealed in patterns of behavior that can only be detected over time, and which true narcissists are skilled at concealing in public. So even if Obama is a narcissist, we would not know it based on what we’ve observed through the media.

These kinds of assertions are irresponsible and serve only to poison the well; a tactic that is only necessary in the absence of legitimate arguments against Obama’s suitability for the Presidency.

People with NPD inflict untold emotional, psychological and even physical damage on their victims. Carelessly tossing around the term “narcissistic personality disorder” undermines and trivializes the abuse and absolute terror that narcissists often inflict on their families and anyone else unfortunate enough to cross their paths.

Anyone who employs such a hideous tactic for the sole purpose of promoting a political agenda has no credibility, in my opinion, and I would urge anyone who has been listening to the source of such propaganda to immediately begin searching elsewhere for information on which to base your November vote.

16 responses to “Poisoning The Well With NPD

  • Dark Skies

    Hey Lottie:

    You aren’t the only one who knows a bit about NPD! The question is, does little “Barry” suffer from it…and if he does…what does that mean for our country?

  • Lottie

    The question is, does little “Barry” suffer from it…and if he does…what does that mean for our country?

    The same question could be asked about McCain.

    One could just as easily “diagnose” McCain, Bush, both Clintons or any other politician for that matter, based strictly on the criteria provided in the DSM. The DSM is a guide for professionals to use in conjunction with other diagnostic tools; therapy being one of those tools.

    You cannot simply check off a list of symptoms and accurately diagnose someone with a personality disorder, and I feel that it is careless and irresponsible to do so.

    I’m wondering why you won’t allow your readers to see my pingback? I could easily analyze that and call it NPD. But I wouldn’t.

  • Dark Skies

    Sorry about the pingback. Please resend it and I’ll make sure it gets on.

    And about the NPD thing, one doesn’t have to be a marine biologist to know one shouldn’t swim with sharks. I know you are an Obama fan, but you’re case is completely ad hominem so far.

    We might not be able to make a diagnosis at a distance, but we still have to consider all the evidence regardless of how the candidates might manipulate it.

    I agree with one point, however. If per chance Obama does have NPD, he will inflict “untold damage” on our country.

    BTW, good luck with your new fiction writing group…sounds like a lot of fun.:-)

  • Dark Skies

    BTW, Lottie, I just entered a comment in the subject post on my blot providing a link to your post and blog.

  • Lottie

    And about the NPD thing, one doesn’t have to be a marine biologist to know one shouldn’t swim with sharks.

    Nor does it require the expertise of a marine biologist to understand that just because other ocean-dwelling animals may resemble sharks, doesn’t mean they actually are sharks.

    I know you are an Obama fan,

    Actually, you don’t know that. I would have made the exact same post if the accusation had been made against McCain.

    but you’re case is completely ad hominem so far.

    No, it absolutely is not. I strongly suggest you research the term “ad hominem”.

    We might not be able to make a diagnosis at a distance, but we still have to consider all the evidence regardless of how the candidates might manipulate it.

    Absolutely. But there is quite a difference between examining evidence and spreading rumors. You have presented no evidence to indicate that Barack Obama has NPD. Assertions are not evidence.

    I agree with one point, however. If per chance Obama does have NPD, he will inflict “untold damage” on our country.

    As would any narcissist in such a powerful position.

    BTW, good luck with your new fiction writing group…sounds like a lot of fun.

    Thanks. I’m probably a bit out of my league, but I’m definitely in good company.

    BTW, Lottie, I just entered a comment in the subject post on my blot providing a link to your post and blog.

    Thanks. And thanks for sharing your thoughts here as well.

  • Dark Skies

    Here are the “ad hominem” comment…

    These kinds of assertions are irresponsible and serve only to poison the well…

    Anyone who employs such a hideous tactic for the sole purpose of promoting a political agenda has no credibility…

    I’m wondering why you won’t allow your readers to see my pingback? I could easily analyze that and call it NPD. But I wouldn’t.

    That last comment is an example of “ad hominem tu quoque”…maybe you should do some research on “ad hominem.”

    BTW, I am not spreading a rumor, I am raising a question. I am asking the reader to draw his/her own conclusions.

  • Mike

    I know you are an Obama fan, but you’re case is completely ad hominem so far.

    No, it’s really not. An ad hominem is a fallacy wherein one attempts to invalidate an argument based on the attributes of the person making it. That isn’t the case here.

  • Dark Skies

    Thx Mike:

    Ad hominem is vy practically interpreted as the use of a personal attack to divert attention from the issue instead of an attack of pure reason.

    That is the case here…

    If I am wrong, please provide the rational argument as to why Obama might not be NPD.

    If you can’t, let me know. I can.

    I don’t know if or if not Obama is NPD…but I think it is worth discussion or I wouldn’t have posted it.

    But please…can we raise the level of discussion?

  • Dark Skies

    BTW…civilized debate precludes the use of attack on an opponent and is held to argument.

    I was actually considering putting your blog on my blogroll as an opposing argument blog…but I am having doubts.

  • Dark Skies

    Sorry Guys…outta here! (I have editors)

    Best of luck, though!

  • Lottie

    Here are the “ad hominem” comment…

    These kinds of assertions are irresponsible and serve only to poison the well…

    I addressed the assertion, not the person, therefore it is not an ad hominem.

    Next you quoted this as an ad hominem:

    Anyone who employs such a hideous tactic for the sole purpose of promoting a political agenda has no credibility…

    You left off where I said “in my opinion”. But even so, it is not an ad hominem because I addressed the tactics, not the person. My opinion of how those tactics affect credibility are based solely on the tactics themselves, and not the person.

    The fact that you have taken it personally does not make it an ad hominem.

    Finally you quoted this as an ad hominem:

    I’m wondering why you won’t allow your readers to see my pingback? I could easily analyze that and call it NPD. But I wouldn’t.

    Your comment following this quote:

    That last comment is an example of “ad hominem tu quoque”…maybe you should do some research on “ad hominem.”

    No it’s not. My claim was not that your behavior is inconsistent with what you say, therefore you are wrong about Obama having NPD. That would be an example of Tu Quoque.

    My point in making that comment was to show how easy it is over-analyze and label people with NPD, but that doing so is wrong and does not mean they actually have NPD. That doesn’t even resemble tu quoque.

  • Lottie

    Ad hominem is vy practically interpreted as the use of a personal attack to divert attention from the issue instead of an attack of pure reason.

    That is the case here…

    That is not the case. I did not attack you as an individual, I addressed your position/assertion that Obama has NPD. I then stated how I feel that affects your credibility in regard to dispensing advice on the subject. That does not qualify as an ad hominem.

    The irony of all this is that your assertion that Obama has NPD actually does qualify as ad hominem in the form of poisoning the well.

    If I am wrong, please provide the rational argument as to why Obama might not be NPD.

    Burden of proof. You made the claim, you support it. Those are the rules of debate.

    BTW…civilized debate precludes the use of attack on an opponent and is held to argument.

    I understand that. But simply making an opponent uncomfortable or even angry does not constitute an attack.You may not like what I say or even how I say it, but that, in and of itself, does not equal ad hominem. And you’ll forgive me if I choose not to take debating advice from someone who doesn’t understand something as basic as burden of proof.

    I was actually considering putting your blog on my blogroll as an opposing argument blog…but I am having doubts.

    I’m sure I’ll be losing sleep. I might as well delete my whole blog now.

  • Mike

    Ad hominem is vy practically interpreted as the use of a personal attack to divert attention from the issue instead of an attack of pure reason.

    That is the case here…

    Is it? Because you haven’t shown it. You keep saying it, but I don’t see you showing it.

    If I am wrong, please provide the rational argument as to why Obama might not be NPD.

    If you can’t, let me know. I can.

    Right, there we go. You just lost any credibility right there. I’m not about to take debating points from someone who doesn’t understand the concept of the burden of proof…

  • Lottie

    By the way…

    Sorry Guys…outta here! (I have editors)

    I couldn’t figure out for the longest what you meant by “I have editors”, then it occurred to me that you might have been suggesting that your comments here were being edited. I assure you that is not the case. I do moderate comments and can’t be at the computer every minute to approve them, so your comments would have been held up in moderation for a few hours. Perhaps that’s what you were referring to?

    Just wanted to clear that up in case there was any doubt.

  • Dr. Fontaine Moore

    As an educational neuropsychologist, someone with an NPD mother who is 1) researching two articles on different ascpects of NPD, and 2) following the campaign in depth, the claim that Barack Obama MIGHT be NPD is not only irresponsible but malignant.

    There is absolutely NO evidence to suggest such a thing and considerable evidence to suggest the opposite–that Obama is an emotionally healthy, caring, intelligent, and rational human being. If such claims are based on his self-confidence, I’d like to remind people that self-confidence is better associated with emotional health than illness. Even were one to substitute arrogance for self-confidence, the last thing a narcissist wants to do is invite that kind of speculation. They court admiration, not suspicion.

    No NPD I’ve ever known or heard about could pull off the grace and rationality Obama has for as long as he has–especially to someone knowledgable about this disorder who’s observed the campaign as closely.

    Anyone suggesting Obama is (or may be) NPD, as far as I’m concerned, is in a similar category to those spreading lies about his being a Muslim. People who use tactics like this not only are ignorant about NPD but are using the “fear card.” Such behavior is far more typical of someone who DOES have a psychological disorder than their “target.”

  • Lottie

    Thank you very much for the information. It’s all very interesting.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

