Bits and Bobs

Work is still going well. I’m not sure why, but my bosses seem to think the sun shines out of my arse. Every week when I’m getting ready to leave for the office to turn in work and generally make an appearance, I start to feel anxious like something terrible is going to happen. I know this is completely irrational; everything always goes very well. They always tell me what a wonderful job I’m doing, thank me profusely as if I’m doing them some kind of huge favor, and then hand me a paycheck. I wonder if I’ll ever get over the anxiety.

That reminds me of something else I’m planning to blog about soon:

I recently came across a business blog on which the author had posted about working from home. Someone commented that she “gets a kick out of” parents who work from home because their children are sick or on break from school. She said (not implied) that this really means that these parents are taking care of kids and not actually working. I posted a comment there, but it’s been on my mind ever since, and decided that it would make a good topic for my blog. Stay tuned for that if you’re interested.

I haven’t abandoned Getting To Know You. I just have to be in the right frame of mind for it, and I haven’t been recently. If I force it, it won’t be right. I’ll do my best to get Part IV up this weekend, though. I’m starting to get back in the mood. After that, I’ll post a few closing comments on the subject.

I have a few other things brewing in my head, but I don’t want to give away too much. I’ll just say that I want to clarify where I stand as a feminist and on feminism in general. On a lighter note, I’ll be making a slightly humorous post about Texas pride. That one is already written and sitting in my drafts. The timing just hasn’t felt right for posting it yet. Does anyone else ever do that?

It’s really hot here in Texas. The air conditioner runs constantly, and I know my electric bill is going to be through the roof this month. My son loves it, though. He’s ready to go swimming and the pools are open. I may take him this weekend to buy some new swimming shorts and lots of sunscreen. I wonder if they sell it by the gallon. No, seriously.

I miss Mike like crazy. My phone bill is another one that’ll be through the roof this month. He’s so sweet and supportive, though. He’s the most amazing person I’ve ever known, and I’m the luckiest person in the world just for having met him. Loving Mike, and knowing he loves me too, is so wonderful and fulfilling that it would be impossible to express my true feelings with mere words.

I don’t see what anyone can see in anyone else but you.

And I can’t think of a nicer way than that to wrap this up.

10 responses to “Bits and Bobs

  • Mike

    I miss you like crazy too, Baby. And that was the nicest, sweetest thing 🙂

    I could never express how I feel about you too, Honey; I only hope I can show you.

  • Lottie

    You show me every day.

  • Mike

    You’re the cutest person. EVAR!

  • catalysta

    Hello! I just started working and I wish everyone thought the sun shined out of my arse! haha. Sadly I’m usually more slapped down, but I’m new to the professional industry being just out of college. Any advice you’d be willing to give me is much welcomed on my blog catalysta.wordpress.com!

  • Lottie

    Thanks for your stopping by. Sorry to hear about you getting slapped down. I know that feeling too. I’ll check out your blog some time this weekend. I have got to do some housework. Fun, fun.

  • catalysta

    I just got into a tiff with my boyfriend about doing the dishes! Cleaning needs to ensue this weekend if I can ever put down my computer. I’m on a total bloggers high lately!

  • Lottie

    I’m on a total bloggers high lately!

    I recently had to cut back some and nearly went into withdrawal. Haha…

  • catalysta

    as long as blogging doesn’t hinder your daily life then I think it’s ok! haha.

    Oh and by the way… Mike sounds wonderful! It’s wonderful to feel so happy! I’m lucky enough to live with the love of my life! Good luck with everything!

  • Lottie

    as long as blogging doesn’t hinder your daily life then I think it’s ok! haha.

    Agreed! 😀

    And thanks! He really is great! Good luck to you too!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

