Hillary Supporters For McCain

One quarter of Bay State Hillary Clinton supporters are undecided in the general election, but Sen. Barack Obama still has a comfortable lead in blue-state Massachusetts, according to a new poll.

In addition, 20 percent of Massachusetts Clinton supporters have switched sides and now say they’ll cast a vote for Republican John McCain in the November election, according to a Suffolk University/WHDH (Channel 7) poll released yesterday.

Boston Herald.com

What kind of sense does this make? Did Hillary’s defeat give her supporters brain damage? If Hillary supporters are now prepared to vote for McCain, I can’t help wondering why they supported Hillary in the first place. If they supported her based on the issues, surely they would get behind Obama now!

I’m almost at a loss for words. It’s mind-boggling!

Hillary herself supports Obama now! Those of her supporters who turn around and vote for McCain might as well spit in Hillary’s face and take an enormous crap on their own agendas.

Unless, of course, their agendas were never really the same as Hillary’s to begin with.

5 responses to “Hillary Supporters For McCain

  • Frige’s-Day Round Up « The Odd Blog

    […] Lottie has a question or two about Clinton supporters who’ve said they’ll vote for McCai… The general idea is “What the hell are you thinking?!”, and it’s one that I can get behind; McCain promises to be not more of the same, but more and worse. Thought the Iraq war was bad now? Wait till your great grandkids have to go and fight under the McCain plan! […]

  • prairielily

    I came over here to make sure you saw my comment.

    The comments she was responding to were definitely condescending, but unless I’m going crazy in my old age, you didn’t make any of them, or say anything inflammatory on the topic.

    I was just annoyed that you passive-aggressively suggested that getting pissed off when people keep telling you the same thing over and over like they’re talking to someone in kindergarten qualifies someone as being a nasty bitch who never contributes to the discussion.

    You’re obviously an intelligent person who can defend herself, and since my three-line comment that was no more sarcastic than yours was hardly ripping your head off like you were an innocent bystander, I assume it was thinking that the whole post was about you that made it egregiously offensive. It wasn’t. Only the first three lines were, and only for the reason I listed above.

    However, I made assumptions about you that I shouldn’t have, and I behaved in a way that was inappropriate, and for that, I apologize. I could have expressed my disagreement in a much more respectful manner, but instead, I went for the cheap shot. I also apologize for not making it clear that the rest of the post had nothing to do with you personally, or anyone, really. It was just a general comment.

    I’m glad that you hope I get my wish on election day, though. It would be truly amazing and fantastic to see all the Democrats unite behind a campaign that promotes positive change for everyone, and blow the Republican Party out of the water. I want to see the kind of humiliation Canada’s Progressive Conservatives got in 1993 when they went from 169 seats to 2 seats. I would prefer something even worse, like what happened to Saskatchewan’s Progressive Conservatives, but I think it’s too much to hope for the GOP to cease to exist because of deficit spending, a weak economy, and so much corruption that 14 of their members of Congress end up in jail.

    If Hillary Clinton had won the primary, and we were seeing ridiculous and mostly false articles about hordes of black people flocking to McCain because their feelings were hurt because Obama lost, I would have said the same thing, but in reverse. In that scenario, I think it would be imperative for reluctant black voters to use all their leverage to make sure that the platform represents their interests, like, say, putting money into the chronically underfunded schools in impoverished communities that are predominantly black. I’m sure others can think of more and better examples, but it’s the middle of the night and there’s very few things (like genocide) that make me more angry than children being overlooked by a faulty system that puts them at a disadvantage, and then punishes them because of it.

  • Lottie

    I was just annoyed that you passive-aggressively suggested that getting pissed off when people keep telling you the same thing over and over like they’re talking to someone in kindergarten qualifies someone as being a nasty bitch who never contributes to the discussion.

    I don’t know that I’d call it passive-aggressive, but that’s not really the point, is it? And that’s not what I was suggesting at all; at least not intentionally.

    I realize we’re talking about someone you regard as a friend or ally, so I’ll try to respect that as I respond.

    Maybe it’s just dumb luck, for want of a better description, but the only comments I have seen her make were along the lines of pointing and laughing and calling people stupid, like I said over there.

    My very first comment on the subject of Hillary-turned-McCain supporters was made tongue in cheek, and only in passing. Although I followed up with a more substantial response, she quoted one sentence and then viciously attacked me, implying that I was stupid and gullible, and should go and hide in the corner; the exact same manner in which I have seen her attack others (my perception) over and over again. That is why I wondered what the excuse might be for behaving that way toward someone on a very first encounter. And that is what prompted the comment that you responded to.

    She and others may very well be fed up with the same old crap ad nauseam. I understand that and I definitely feel your pain on that front. But taking it out on people who have had no part in dishing it out, hardly seems reasonable. I’m not saying you did that, but she certainly did, and I had become fed up as well.

    I assume it was thinking that the whole post was about you that made it egregiously offensive. It wasn’t. Only the first three lines were, and only for the reason I listed above.

    Yes, that is what I found offensive. Since you were obviously addressing me at the start and didn’t quote or name anyone else after that, it did appear as though the entire comment was directed at me.

    However, I made assumptions about you that I shouldn’t have, and I behaved in a way that was inappropriate, and for that, I apologize.

    Thank you for that. I appreciate it and it shows character on your part.

    I suppose I could have simply asked if the rest of your comment was directed at me and waited for an answer before responding the way I did. Since I didn’t, I bear equal responsibility for the break down in communication, and for that I apologize as well.

    Thank you for taking the time and making the extra effort to ensure that I saw your comment. And thank you for sharing your views. I’m out of time for now, so I’ll just finish by saying that we probably have more in common than either of us realized at first glance.

    Thanks again! Please feel free to stop by any time.

  • prairielily

    I came back to visit and noticed you replied to me.

    Here’s the thing, though. Apparently I didn’t read the thread very well, because I thought the comment I responded to was the first you made in the thread. Basically, I thought you had read through the thread, and picked on her specifically just for kicks, so I made an off-hand sarcastic comment back. I really didn’t intend it to be as mean as it was, but intention really isn’t the point when you’re kind of a jerk.

    I really don’t know wiggles at all. I have read substantive stuff, but I don’t know how often you read the feminist blogs… There are always people who show up asking or spewing the absolute same predictable anti-feminist garbage, and then act all outraged when no one wants to stop the discussion and address them politely for the zillionth time. I think it makes all of us grumpy, because I’ve definitely noticed that it pisses me off WAY more now than it did back when I first started reading blogs like Feministe.

    I think you just got caught up in the crossfire from that. I can’t speak for anyone else, but I have nothing against you, and I’m sure we have a great deal in common otherwise, if we both enjoy Feministe. We just met over an issue that we disagreed on.

    I haven’t really had time, but I’m hoping to poke through your blog a little more soon.

  • Lottie

    Thanks for stopping by again and for explaining further what happened the other day.

    There are always people who show up asking or spewing the absolute same predictable anti-feminist garbage, and then act all outraged when no one wants to stop the discussion and address them politely for the zillionth time.

    I definitely understand how frustrating that is. It happens in debates on various topics and I know it sometimes makes me feel like screaming.

    I do appreciate you taking the time. I’m sure we won’t have any problem putting this behind us. And like I said before, stop by any time. You are always welcome.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

