Celebrating Voluptuous Women

Ladyjaye75 posted this video on her blog, Dancing With My Mirror. Living in a culture that believes skinny = beauty, and often treats women who are bigger than a size twelve like they don’t deserve the air they breathe, I found this very refreshing.

One person commented that it’s just another instance of “women being objectified in the music industry”. While I understand how it could be perceived this way, I personally disagree. The “big girls” in the video are not being objectified in my opinion, but rather humanized and celebrated.

All too often, voluptuous women are ignored or, worse, sneered at while thin women are thrown in our faces and held up as the ideal standard of beauty. It’s about time they/we had our moment in the spotlight without being mocked.

Mika’s video, Big Girl You Are Beautiful is below the fold. I’d love to hear your thoughts and opinions.

33 responses to “Celebrating Voluptuous Women

  • jamboree

    I suppose my real issue with the music video is their attire. Was it really necessary to dress them in underwear to prove their beauty? I don’t know. Maybe I’m just a prude, maybe there’s something to it.

    At any rate, I’m not totally against the song; I just bought the album after all. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Lottie

    Hi! Thanks for commenting! ๐Ÿ˜€

    They were wearing underwear? Even if they were, they are adult women and I’m sure no-one held a gun to their heads while they dressed themselves.

    Besides, I believe their skimpy costumes are as much a statement as the lyrics.

    As a “plus size” woman, I hate shopping for clothes only to find nothing but frumpy, loose-fitting clothes in my size, while all the cute and form-fitting clothes stop at size twelve. It’s as if the fashion industry and society as a whole thinks we ought to stay covered up. You know… the whole who wants to look at that? mindset.

    The flip side of that is the whole, if you got it flaunt it mindset which allows scantily clad skinny women to go anywhere they want without anyone taking issue.

    My perspective is that the women in the video are saying, “We’re beautiful too, and you don’t get to cover us up, World. We got it and we’re going to flaunt it!”

    Nothing wrong with that, in my opinion, so long as the women are making that choice for themselves.

    Thanks again for commenting. It’s certainly an interesting topic.

  • O.

    If this is objectification, more big girls should be objectified. I think this video is absolutely Bootylicious!! ( ;

  • Lottie

    Right on! ๐Ÿ˜€

  • Gary Murning

    I bought the album when it first came out in the UK and, though I am a little tired of it now, I had to be physically restrained from heading down to the Butterfly Lounge to find myself a big lady at the time ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Skinny girls dance about in their underwear and I am more than happy for big girls to do it too. In fact, discard those undies altogether!

    No. Best not. I don’t think my old heart could take it!

  • Lottie

    Maybe they should just wear thongs.

    Heh… I just wanted to say “thong”.

    lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Gary Murning

    Q: What’s a thong?

    A: A thing a thinger things.

    (Sorry. Old joke but it still makes me chuckle.)

  • Lottie

    Don’t be sorry. It cracked me up. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Hayley

    Great post. Great Video!
    It’s horrible living in an image obsessed world. Most girls don’t know that Miss Monroe was infact a UK size 16 and yet she was drop dead gorgeous!

  • Lottie

    Hi Hayley! Thanks for commenting.

    Most girls donโ€™t know that Miss Monroe was infact a UK size 16 and yet she was drop dead gorgeous!

    Yes! This little known fact brings me a great deal of comfort when I’m shopping for clothes.

  • Mike

    Donโ€™t be sorry. It cracked me up.

    Would you two stop stringing us along and make a decent joke?

  • Selena

    In my practice I come into close contact with all shapes and sizes of women. And I tell you, Iโ€™d much rather work on a woman with some meat on her bones than a bony structure. Iโ€™m a small woman, but I am not a stick figure. Also, I have noticed voluptuous women seem to have prettier and healthier looking skin and they donโ€™t age as quickly. I have always thought that Kathy Bates is beautiful. She glows. Go on girl and celebrate! ๐Ÿ˜€

  • Lottie

    Hi, Selena! Thanks for your nice comment.

    Also, I have noticed voluptuous women seem to have prettier and healthier looking skin and they donโ€™t age as quickly.

    That’s great news! And a great thought to start the day with! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I’m off to work now. Thanks again!

  • Lottie

    Mike,

    I’ve been trying to think of something to top that, and I can’t. I declare you the winner. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Gary Murning

    Iโ€™d much rather work on a woman with some meat on her bones than a bony structure.

    Me too ๐Ÿ˜€

    Lottie, he wasn’t funny — tell him too butt out ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Lottie

    Ooohhhh! Looks like we have a new winner! ๐Ÿ˜€

  • Mike

    A wiener, you mean.

  • Lottie

    I don’t know if we should be talking about butts and wieners in the same context. Someone might report me as… “mature”, and have me removed from the public listings. ๐Ÿ˜›

  • Gary Murning

    Oh, I don’t think there’s any chance of the three of us being considered “mature” any time soon! ๐Ÿ˜€

  • Lottie

    Hehe… I had a similar thought right after I posted that comment. lol

  • SnowdropExplodes

    Responding to jamboree @ 1, I thought the same at the start of the video, but then I noticed that by the end there are “bigger” women who were just passing by, in their regular clothes, joining in too. I think that makes it much more potently “being big is okay, m’kay?” and not just “objectifying”.

    Also the clear admiration of the bigger women by the little girl who imitated their poses, shows how important it is to be happy with who you are, and show the next generation they can be, too.

  • Lottie

    Also the clear admiration of the bigger women by the little girl who imitated their poses, shows how important it is to be happy with who you are, and show the next generation they can be, too.

    Good point! I’m surprised I overlooked it. Thanks for commenting.

  • Rose

    “Iโ€™d much rather work on a woman with some meat on her bones than a bony structure. Iโ€™m a small woman, but I am not a stick figure. Also, I have noticed voluptuous women seem to have prettier and healthier looking skin and they donโ€™t age as quickly.”

    Is this really necessary? It kind of detracts from the body-positive idea. I’ve got a “bony structure” but I’m not a stick figure, I’m a human being.

  • Lottie

    Hi, Rose! Thanks for commenting. Sorry your comment was stuck in moderation for so long. I had to start work earlier than usual this morning and just now saw it.

  • Selena

    “Is this really necessary? It kind of detracts from the body-positive idea. Iโ€™ve got a โ€œbony structureโ€ but Iโ€™m not a stick figure, Iโ€™m a human being.”

    Rose, clearly I am one of those hateful types that enjoys bashing women and causing them to feel badly about their bodies…

    Common sense…

    My comment was to encourage Lottie, so YES it is really necessary.

  • Gary Murning

    *whistles* I will behave, I will behave, I will behave, I will behave…

    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Selena

    Rose, sorry for being โ€œsnippetyโ€ I react very quickly. When it comes to a โ€œbody-positive idea.โ€ as you say, I refuse to take responsible for your body image. This is something all women need to take personal responsibility for. Otherwise, women will be dependent on other people to affirm them or be easily offended. It’s awesome to see a woman celebrate her body type, she is affirming one aspect of herself, the physical element.

    I unapologetically use the terms “stick figure” and “boney” and will most likely continue to do so. I personally think itโ€™s better than saying, โ€œIโ€™d much rather work on a woman with some meat on her bones than a string of vertebra and a couple of pointy scapulas.โ€ I think boney is more kosher, even though I am not one who strives to stay politically correct.

  • Lottie

    Selena:

    My comment was to encourage Lottie […]

    And I appreciate that! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Gary: We’re still not going for “mature” are we? lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Gary Murning

    I’m just keeping my big fat mouth shut, Lottie, for fear of hitting on a bone of contention…

    *runs and hides*

  • Lottie

    Ooohhh… I could take that in so many different directions, but I think I’ll follow your lead. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Part Of The Problem « Rambling On

    […] is absolutely nothing wrong with celebrating voluptuous women. We can also discuss the problems within the fashion industry and the media, and how it affects […]

  • truthwalker

    I love it. I showed it to my wife (who is posting the video now) and her response was “HEY, where was I when they were filming this? I want to dance around in my nightie with a bunch of other curvy girls!” Any post that makes my wife want to dance around scantily clad is fine by me.

  • Lottie

    I thought the same thing – that I would have liked being in that video.

    Any post that makes my wife want to dance around scantily clad is fine by me.

    You sound like my husband! ๐Ÿ˜†

You must be logged in to post a comment.

