Truth Is Not Bigotry

I love Kathy Griffin! So I decided to search YouTube for videos of her stand up, and found a few clips of Kathy on The View. While I hate The View, I think Kathy Griffin is smart and funny, and I wanted to watch her try and shock Barbara Walters. In one particular clip (it’s quite old, but the issue is not) they’re talking about Condi Rice:

Before I begin, I want to say that I refuse to dignify Elisabeth Hasselbeck’s comments by addressing them here (she’s the blonde at the far right). I will say, however, that someone should stuff a sock in her mouth and then wrap her entire head in duct tape, because that would be less embarrassing for her than being allowed to speak in public. She is ignorant and uniformed, and her position on The View is a poor reflection on Barbara Walters, in my opinion.

With that out of the way, I would now like to address Barbara’s comment regarding bigotry:

Since when has stating a fact been defined as bigotry? Kathy was absolutely correct in stating that Republicans do not look out for women and minorities; that they are all about rich white men. That is just as factual as saying that Condi is a black woman. Am I a bigot for seeing that and saying so? If you think so, then I contend that you are the bigot.

OK, so Kathy wasn’t as careful with her words in the beginning as she should have been on The View, and had to do a little damage control. That does not equal bigotry! Barbara’s accusation was plainly ridiculous.

A short story:

A while back, my son and I were visiting a friend at her apartment complex. My son was acquainted with some of the kids who lived there, but didn’t know them well. He was asking around for a specific boy that he wanted to play with, whose name he couldn’t remember. He began describing the boy to some other children hoping that someone would know who he was talking about. He said, “He’s about this tall, thin, curly hair, wears [some kind of cool shoes] and he’s black.” The other children began shrieking and calling my son a racist! One boy said, “Dude! Why ya’ wanna call somebody ‘black’ for?”

Um, because he is black, and it was relevant in that context?

My son was devastated to the point of crying. I have made a point of teaching him about racism and what a terrible thing it is. He was horrified by the accusation, even more so by the possibility that he had inadvertently said something racist. It took several days of consoling him and reassuring him that he hadn’t said anything wrong before he stopped worrying about it.

My son was merely describing another boy who he liked and wanted to play with! For this, he was humiliated and wrongly accused. So, from which direction did the damage really come?

The same principle applies to the situation with Kathy Griffin. What she said about Republicans and Condi Rice is absolutely true. Republicans do support and protect rich white men and their bank accounts, and do not support women and minorities. That is a fact that Republicans don’t even try to conceal. And before any of you start waving Economic Stimulus checks in my face, don’t forget that we’ll be paying those back next year, just like we paid back the last “gift” from Dubya.

Stating facts does not make anyone a bigot, even if those facts make certain people uncomfortable. If making people uncomfortable makes one a bigot, surely we’re all guilty!

2 responses to “Truth Is Not Bigotry

  • sugarsprouts

    that someone should stuff a sock in her mouth and then wrap her entire head in duct tape…

    Here! Here! Very refreshing blog – adding to my blogroll. Thanks for pinging me back.

    Republicans do support and protect rich white men and their bank accounts, and do not support women and minorities.

    ALL THIS is about to change my Republican foes! (said with an evil chortle).

  • Lottie

    Thanks for stopping by, sugarsprouts! Please feel free to visit any time.

    ALL THIS is about to change my Republican foes! (said with an evil chortle).

    😀

You must be logged in to post a comment.

