Dear Christians: Dobson Thinks You’re Stupid

Why do I say this? I’m glad you asked.

I recently came across James Dobson’s Ten Arguments Against Same Sex Marriage. I was so utterly appalled at the stupidity of it that I had difficulty forming a coherent response; quite frankly, I don’t think I could dumb myself down enough. It’s just so wrong on so many levels.

I also have a confession to make: I’ve actually read several of James Dobson’s books, and I used to be on his mailing list. I know! Stop laughing! It’s painful enough as it is!

Seriously, though, while Dobson is extremely misguided in a few areas, I don’t think he’s a stupid man. He’s certainly not stupid enough to believe this enormous crock of shit. His so-called arguments against gay marriage are so far removed from anything having to do with the subject that they’re not even wrong!

I’ll just post a few lines here so you can see what I’m talking about. For a full-blown migraine, follow the link and read the whole thing.

I won’t quote Dobson’s slippery-slope argument about polygamy and incest because it has been addressed time and again and I’m sure he knows that. But, hey… When did uncountable refutations ever stop a Christian from repeating the same thing ad nauseam in the hopes that it would magically become true?

Ah well… On with the really mind-boggling stuff:

An even greater objective of the homosexual movement is to end the state’s compelling interest in marital relationships altogether. After marriages have been redefined, divorces will be obtained instantly, will not involve a court, and will take on the status of a driver’s license or a hunting permit. With the family out of the way, all rights and privileges of marriage will accrue to gay and lesbian partners without the legal entanglements and commitments heretofore associated with it.

Yeah, and gays shouldn’t be allowed to marry because it will result in world wide famine, cactus plants spontaneously growing in our toilets and hot wax dripping from the sky.

Hey, as long as we’re making shit up…

With the legalization of homosexual marriage, every public school in the nation will be required to teach that this perversion is the moral equivalent of traditional marriage between a man and a woman. Textbooks, even in conservative states, will have to depict man/man and woman/woman relationships, and stories written for children as young as elementary school, or even kindergarten, will have to give equal space to homosexuals.

Where the hell does this come from? I don’t recall ever being taught anything about marriage in school. Apart from the thinly veiled religious programs called abstinence only until marriage “education” –which need to be stopped right this minute– I’ve never even heard of marriage being taught in school. Did I miss something?

From that point forward, courts will not be able to favor a traditional family involving one man and one woman over a homosexual couple in matters of adoption. Children will be placed in homes with parents representing only one sex on an equal basis with those having a mom and a dad. The prospect of fatherless and motherless children will not be considered in the evaluation of eligibility. It will be the law.

Foster-care parents will be required to undergo “sensitivity training” to rid themselves of bias in favor of traditional marriage, and will have to affirm homosexuality in children and teens.

Oh no! Equality, tolerance and sensitivity! We’re all doomed!

How about the impact on Social Security if there are millions of new dependents that will be entitled to survivor benefits? It will amount to billions of dollars on an already overburdened system. And how about the cost to American businesses? Unproductive costs mean fewer jobs for those who need them. Are state and municipal governments to be required to raise taxes substantially to provide health insurance and other benefits to millions of new “spouses and other dependents”?

I could dedicate an entire post to this, but I’m not up to it right now. Perhaps another time. But this is just another example of why I say that Dobson thinks Christians are stupid.

This is the one of the biggest pieces of homophobic, hate-filled propaganda I have ever come across (follow the link and I’m sure you’ll agree). Thing is, I don’t think Dobson even believes it all. But one thing he knows for certain is that he has an enormous following, and he’s counting on them to swallow this, hook, line and sinker. He can’t win the debate with facts or reason, so he has decided to try and win with lies, and he’s counting on his followers being stupid enough to believe it all. I believe he’s further counting on them to memorized the arguments, and then perform their amazing parrot impressions.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m not calling Christians stupid. But James Dobson is deliberately trying to appeal to Christians with these “arguments”, and they are an assault on even average intelligence. He must really think his readers are stupid!

One final quote from Dobson:

This apocalyptic and pessimistic view of the institution of the family and its future will sound alarmist to many […]

Well look at that! Common ground.

6 responses to “Dear Christians: Dobson Thinks You’re Stupid

  • wwwvalueallfamiliescom

    I put my name on Dobson’s Mailing list 3 years ago and received an 8 page letter telling me how gay people will ruin society bla bla. It made me sick to my stomach. This is a powerful man who runs an organization so large it has its own zipcode. Focus on the family. He can mold what people think and the damage he alone has done to gay people is unmatched. Because of the letter I received I spent 2 years researching him, evangelicals, political ties and it became quite apparent really fast that Dobson uses gays to further his agenda and that of very rich and powerful Republicans. I developed a website to combat all of the lies out there surrounding gays. I backed everything up with valid sources and facts. The website is massive and covers everything concerning this issue. Please check it out. http://www.ValueALLFamilies.com

    Dobson is using his followers who trust him to get Republicans elected who inturn for 8 years have turned their backs on these same people who trusted them. Now with the California marriage amendment on the ballot Dobson is hoping to drive people to the polls in November again to be duped into voting for a Republican for president who will do nothing except continue the asinine policies that got America is the worst shape in our countries history.

    Maybe a dissection of the Bible from a heterosexual biblical scholar will shed some light on what the Bible REALLY says about gays. Go to this link for a lecture on the passages in the bible about gays: http://www.valueallfamilies.com/myth__god_is_anti_gay

    This is why we don’t need religious “beliefs” as the basis of laws. What we need is logic and reason. People hide behind their “religious beliefs” when in reality they are full of insecurity, hate, and misunderstanding. These are the people we can thank for 8 years of Bush. These are the people who will be duped AGAIN to come out and vote for marriage amendments which will bring them to the polls to vote for McCain. Who, if he wins will turn his back on them and make the rich richer at their expense. Lost your house yet? How about your job? Your copays for health insurance gone up? The country is in the toilet right now so much that the government has to give out money to make the appearance of no recession. Keep worrying about a tiny minority who just wants to protect their families like every one else. Keep voting against them and see how far this country can be brought down because of it….
    http://www.ValueALLfamilies.com the TRUTH about gay people.

  • Lottie

    Thank you for commenting! Sounds like we’re pretty much in agreement on Dobson.

    I’m pressed for time at the moment, but I’ll check out the links later today.

    Thanks again! Stop by any time.

  • waltzinexile

    All right, I know I’m like 6 months late here, but I have to add something anyway. Do you remember all of the “Yes on 8” ads that claimed that a Yes vote on 8 would “protect our children”? Exactly how fragile ARE the evangelicals’ children, is what I want to know. Will their heads explode if they see a family with two dads? Oh NOES, save teh kidz frum xplozhun, stop teh gayz. /snark
    Sorry. Can’t help it. It boggles.

  • Lottie

    Will their heads explode if they see a family with two dads?

    The sky might fall. Or their own parents might vaporize.

    Don’t be sorry. I love snark. 😀

  • Interactive Whiteboards :

    of course health insurance is very much essential for your own sake:-;

  • Lottie

    Er… Yeah… And banana stew at half past nine. :-p

You must be logged in to post a comment.

