This and That

So the work-at-home gig is going well. I haven’t actually worked in the nude yet, although I do spend most of the day in my pajamas. The most unexpected thing about this new arrangement is the fact that I feel slightly guilty about it. I know I’m doing the work correctly, but it just seems too easy; too relaxed. I keep thinking how odd it is that I’m actually being paid for it.

I just came from turning in my work for the week, and my boss was very pleased. She was impressed with the quantity as well as the quality of my work. I reckon I’ll adjust, as long as that keeps happening and they keep paying me.

Lately, my bus rides have been uneventful, for the most part. I haven’t left anymore valuables behind, and I haven’t been verbally assaulted by anymore drivers. I did have to endure the rantings of a street preacher while waiting at a bus stop a couple of weeks ago. And on the way back from the office today, there was a woman on the bus who kept singing hymns quite loudly, quoting bible verses, and talking to herself about Jesus and the devil. But, hey… we all have our faults, right?

I’m taking the day off from work because I have a lot to do around the house. (I do love this flex time thing.) Besides catching up on the usual cleaning, I need to clear out a couple of drawers, and rearrange a few things. I’m having a house guest for the next three weeks, and since he’s traveling such a long distance (all the way from England) the least I could do is have the house clean and make room for him. He’ll leave tonight and arrive tomorrow.

Did I mention that this house guest is the love of my life and has been for the past seven years? No, I suppose I didn’t. Well, now you know. He’s also the brilliant author of The Odd Blog. You can see his gorgeous picture over there in Recent Comments, at least until it gets bumped off by my adoring fans who can’t wait to post comments… oh wait, I had myself confused with someone else for just a second. Anyway, the gorgeous hunk I’m talking about is Mike.

OK, I’m off to start cleaning, and plan a wedding. Oh… I guess I forgot to mention that as well, huh?

Tra la la… Life is grand!

8 responses to “This and That

  • nectarfizz

    (grin)…in the nude eh? I need a job exactly like yours..though, I will wear all manner of crazy socks with my pj’s. Thats how I roll. (grin)

  • Lottie

    Hey, Bekki! Great to hear from you!

    Sorry I’m just now seeing this. Yesterday was the big day, and I’ve been a bit preoccupied.

    Yay! We did it! I am now Mrs… Mike. lol

  • ortleymom

    hi lottie,,,,,
    Was it that hard to find a husband in the United States? I’m sure you could have found a cowboy who needed a good workhorse such as yourself, right here in the good ole’ USA.
    Oh and by the way is that a head tilt I see in your pic? Are you attemting to look pretty?Try again!You look like an ass and you write like one too!

  • Lottie

    Was it that hard to find a husband in the United States?

    Oh, no. Not at all. I had one and he wasn’t up to my standards so I left him in the dust. But thanks for your concern.

    I’m sure you could have found a cowboy who needed a good workhorse such as yourself, right here in the good ole’ USA.

    Yeah, I’m from a town full of cowboys, several of whom proposed marriage. They were nice enough, but I prefer men who are smarter than their cattle. I’m sure when you caught ’em on the rebound, they told you how I let them down easy, though.

    Oh and by the way is that a head tilt I see in your pic? Are you attemting to look pretty?

    Head tilts are pretty? All this time I thought it was my winning smile.

    Try again!You look like an ass and you write like one too!

    Coming from such a first class (semi-literate) ass like you, I’ll take that as a compliment.

    Thanks for stopping by! Have a nice day! And, say hi to Jess, will ya’? 😉

  • ortleymom

    im sure she’d love to meet you in person.just who do you think you are? here is a college kid writing a blog for a class assignment and you feel the need to bash her every idea. you are so worried about her grammar. or did pretty girls torture you in college. oh wait. did you go?maybe you were too busy rescuing baby animal. would you rather read a blog about a 21 year old that was on the streets doing drugs or worse. would you pick on her too.atleast she’s attemping to make something of herself. knock her down why don’t you. it’s not exactley constructive critism.you told the lovely nectarfizz you were tuning a new leaf. do so but give your husband fair warning before you turn over!oh and i can give two craps about my spelling or grammar so dont bother or if you must go right ahead.ps.if any of my commas are in the wrong place please feel free to shove them up your ass where the belong

  • Lottie

    Well, it’s easy to see where she gets it. Or doesn’t.

    Clearly, neither of you would recognize constructive criticism if it bit you on the arse. Hint: don’t confuse delivery with content.

    If Jess is so thin-skinned that she has to go crying to her mommy over the criticisms (constructive or not) of some stranger on the internet, she’s in for one very rude awakening if she actually becomes a journalist.

    Of course, it’s not Jess’s fault that she’s so emotionally stunted. That’s probably down to her mommy following her around all her life and raving like a drunken mad woman over the slightest offense.

    But, hey… thanks for making such a spectacle of yourself, and Jess in the process. When she wakes from the sedative, I’m sure she won’t be even slightly embarrassed by this.

    By the way:

    im sure she’d love to meet you in person.

    Should I take that as a threat?

  • Mike

    oh and i can give two craps about my spelling or grammar so dont bother or if you must go right ahead.ps.if any of my commas are in the wrong place please feel free to shove them up your ass where the belong

    Hey, Ortleyskank – what’s it like being a stereotype?

  • Lottie

    The upside to that, Mike, is that if the journalism thing falls through, the two of them can probably get a few paid gigs on The Jerry Springer Show.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

