My Own Worst Enemy

I don’t know why I do this to myself.

I feel like I’m coming down with something. I’m totally drained, aching all over, sneezing, and I feel like I’m running a temperature. My thermometer doesn’t work, so I can’t say for sure, but my face feels… sunburned, even though it’s not. I’m thinking of calling in sick tomorrow, which I am entitled to do, but just the thought of it makes me feel guilty. Even when I’m convinced that it’ll be OK to take the day off, it’s because I’ve made a mental list of the things I can get done if I stay out of work. That’s just warped.

I have no problem telling other people that it’s good to take care of themselves and rest, and that they shouldn’t feel bad about it. I believe it when I say it to others. In fact, I know it’s true. So why don’t I take my own advice? Why don’t I just get the rest I know I need and deserve, and stop trying to fill in the time with “productive” things to do?

Hmmm… I think I have issues. I could very well be my own worst enemy.

PS – Mike, Honey, you know I love you with all my heart, and that I value your opinions and feedback, but please keep your wisecracks to yourself.
(Hope that made you laugh.) 😉

2 responses to “My Own Worst Enemy

  • Mike

    You can be a fool to yourself sometimes – just take the day and rest, because you’re sick. You don’t need to be feeling guilty over it – you’re entitled to the day.

    I hope you rested last night and followed my advice after we hung up.

  • Lottie

    Yes, I did follow your advice. Thanks for your support. I don’t know what I’d do without you. Honestly.

    I’m staying home, but I can’t promise not to feel bad about it. In fact, I already do. *sigh*

You must be logged in to post a comment.

