Cold Turkey

I’ll write more about this when my head is clearer. For now I’ll just say that I’m trying to quit smoking cigarettes. I’m sure John was talking about something else in this song, but this is how I’m feeling today. It’s day two for me if you’re interested.

Please listen through to the end. If you’ve never experienced withdrawal, John makes you feel it with or without words:

Oh I’ll be a good boy
Please make me well
I promise you anything
Get me out of this hell

8 responses to “Cold Turkey

  • StPaulieGrrl

    Let me know if there is anything I can do to help. The offer to go shopping for some tapering-off assistance is there. Love you. ((hugs))

  • Lottie

    Thank you, sis! One of my former bosses quit with the patches and gum, but they’re quite expensive. Of course, so are cigarettes! I’ll keep trying, but if I can’t do it, I’ll let you know and we can look into smoking cessation products.

    I can’t tell you how much your support means to me! You are the best big sister in the world!

    I love you too! ((hugs))

    P.S. Did you have time to listen to the song all the way through. Poor John… :(

  • Lottie

    Maybe it’s just me, but if you look at the position of John’s right hand in the still shot, it looks like there was a cigarette between his fingers was edited out. Huh…

  • StPaulieGrrl

    I didn’t have time to listen to the song this morning before I left for work but I will this evening. Let me know how the quitting process is going. I know that the nicotine patches and gum are expensive; we bought them for Dale’s mom and dad during one of their attempts to quit. There is also Zyban (aka Wellbutrin) which I have in my possession. I’m willing to share! ;-) I love you, sis!

  • Lottie

    Wellbutrin worked for me before and I would love to give it another shot!

    I love you too, sis! :)

  • StPaulieGrrl

    I’ll give you some. Dale also brought back Dairy Milk for Mike and says that it better get delivered soon or it is in definite jeopardy! ;-) Love you!

  • Lottie

    Thanks, sis. I’m having a rough time today. I have a couple of cigarettes stashed away for an “emergency”. I take comfort in knowing I have a choice. I gotta tell ya, though… I feel an “emergency” coming on. :(

  • StPaulieGrrl

    Unfortunately, the Wellbutrin doesn’t have an instant effect. The recommendation is to start it 10 days or so before you stop smoking so that it can achieve a therapeutic blood level. I can bring it over, regardless. We can also go to Target or Cub and look at buying some nicotine patches or gum. Just let me know. ♥

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

