McDonald’s Anti-boycott – I’m Lovin’ It!

The American Family Association is boycotting McDonald’s. Why would they boycott such a fine dining establishment? Well, first let’s have a look at what it’s not about:

  • This boycott is not about hiring homosexuals.
  • It is not about homosexuals eating at McDonald’s.
  • It is not about how homosexual employees are treated.

According to their website, the boycott is about:

It is about McDonald’s, as a corporation, refusing to remain neutral in the culture wars. McDonald’s has chosen not to remain neutral but to give the full weight of their corporation to promoting the homosexual agenda, including homosexual marriage.

PZ Myers responds thusly:

Oh. They don’t object to homosexuals being served food in the restaurant, they just object to promoting civil rights for gay people in the whole dang culture at large. Homosexuals can have the right to consume greasy fast food and work at low wages, but that’s it, we’re drawing the line at allowing them to be treated as full human beings.

But I dislike McDonald’s!

Couldn’t have said it better myself, Dr. Myers. Thanks for speaking my mind for me. It’s been a rough week.

In comments at Pharyngula, someone posted a link to a hilarious fisking of all this boycotting hooha. It’s written by Chris Kelly at The Huffington Post. An excerpt:

What did McDonald’s do to cross the AFA, its president, Donald Wildmon, and — by extension — Jesus (R-Nz.)? They donated $20,000 to the National Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce. McDonald’s’ revenue runs about five billion dollars a quarter, so you can see their profound commitment to destroying the family through sodomy.

Mr Kelly includes a stupidly hilarious list of comments from outraged fundies, representing the mentality of the customer base McD’s has offended. Do check it out!

My son loves McDonald’s, mostly for the playland, though he’s just about outgrown it. I usually have to grit my teeth when I agree to take him there. Now I can feel good about it. It’s a civil rights issue, damnit!

And I do love their sweet tea.


22 responses to “McDonald’s Anti-boycott – I’m Lovin’ It!

  • tree63fan

    Quoted from AFA (In response to the boycott, McDonald’s spokesman Bill Whitman suggested to the Washington Post that those who oppose SSM are motivated by hate, saying “…hatred has no place in our culture.” McDonald’s has decided to adopt the “hate” theme used by gay activist groups for years.)
    For McDonalds to profess to be against hate, they sure hate those that stick to what they believe in. I do not hate, I simply do not agree. Do you “hate” your neighbor for having an ugly house, or do you disagree with their choice to not keep it looking nice? Do I hate a person because they choose to love someone of the same sex, or do I disagree with a lifestyle that my religion is clearly against? I disagree. To hate is absolutely wrong.
    I disagree with the “hate” spin that gets thrown around. Actually, it would be like saying “YOU ARE A HATER BECAUSE YOU DISAGREE WITH MY RELIGION OR THE SCHOOL I SEND MY CHILD TO, YOU MUST AGREE WITH MY CHOICES OR ELSE YOU ARE A HATER.” You see how that sounds ridiculous?

  • Lottie

    For McDonalds to profess to be against hate, they sure hate those that stick to what they believe in. I do not hate, I simply do not agree.

    So, Christians sticking to what they believe in and seeking to promote it, is simple disagreement – not hate.

    But McDonald’s sticking to what it believes in, and seeking to promote it, is hate.

    Gosh. Thanks for clearing that up. I feel so enlightened now. But let’s just make sure:

    Hate is sticking to, and seeking to promote stuff that Christians disagree with.

    How’d I do?

    I disagree with the “hate” spin that gets thrown around. Actually, it would be like saying “YOU ARE A HATER BECAUSE YOU DISAGREE WITH MY RELIGION OR THE SCHOOL I SEND MY CHILD TO, YOU MUST AGREE WITH MY CHOICES OR ELSE YOU ARE A HATER.” You see how that sounds ridiculous?

    Why, yes, I certainly do see how ridiculous that sounds.

  • Gary Murning

    Personally, I don’t believe this “we don’t hate”-crap for one minute. Whatever they might say to the contrary, fundamentalist Christians do hate — it’s simply that they so successfully manage to dress it up using terms like “disagree” that they no longer recognize it for what it is.

    I tend to think, however, that it’s about time we all stopped tiptoeing around these issues, pretending that hate is always a bad thing. We are for ever being told not to hate. And when it’s part of the passive aggressive tactic to single out one part of the community and discriminate against it, I’d have to agree with that. But let’s be real about this. We love, we hate. A simple fact of life and one we should admit to. Loving thine neighbour simply because we are told we should is a Christian principle. And I’m not a Christian.

    I am therefore very happy to state that whilst I don’t make a habit out of hating (in fact, I very seldom find the need) — I’m very comfortable hating stupidity.

    And if fundamentalist Christians expect me to believe that there isn’t hate behind this boycott, this is certainly deserving of my hatred.

    Does that make me a bad person in their eyes? I fucking hope so.

  • Lottie

    Very well said, Gary!

    Loving thine neighbour simply because we are told we should is a Christian principle.

    Indeed, it is. And I don’t believe anyone can love just because they’re told to anyway.

  • Mike

    I disagree with a lifestyle that my religion is clearly against? I disagree. To hate is absolutely wrong.

    If that were it, if it were just “I disagree with your lifestyle because I think it’s wrong”, I could probably live with that. But it isn’t. It’s always, “I disagree with your lifestyle, therefore you don’t have a right to exist or get a job or have a family life or not be persecuted. Oh, and you’re going to hell, you filthy homo. But we love you!”

    Wanker.

    And another thing – gay marriage promotes stable families and allows people to form legal family units who previously couldn’t. I guess the American Family Association should be renamed to the American Straight White Protestant Family Association.

  • tree63fan

    Wow, I apologize that I messed up with my wording and in fact stuck my foot in my mouth. I admit it, I’m not perfect. I am sure you got my point if you were able to stop and think a bit, but it seems that the Christian viewpoint must be wrong no matter what.
    —So, let’s just go with that. Let’s throw all morality out the window. Heck, what is morality? You cannot define it without historical biblical principles, so then, nothing should be “wrong”. Pedophiles should be able to live freely with as many kids as they want, and we should also be able to have multiple spouses and families (polygamy)? Heck, let’s pour in research dollars from our taxes to find the DNA link that says pedophiles are born that way and should be accommodated? I’m sure we are all born “the way we are”, and thus we should be able to act however we feel, right? Plus, the government should support me in ALL my desires? In this new era, do we want to have sex ALL the time and have an abortion clinic on every corner so it will be convenient? Maybe there could be a drive through abortion clinic as well as a “quickie” house and “hard drug” store on the corner too. Oh, wait, better yet, get rid of abortion and just drop your kids off at the pedophile pick up zone, that way the anti abortionists are happy! Yep, that would be the most civil thing to do since we don’t want anyone to be offended. We should also up the fine for destroying eagles’ eggs! This will help us afford all the abortions by those who don’t agree with pedophilia. By the way, this is a free country, and if the majority agrees with same sex marriage, then so be it. If the majority agrees with abortion, then so be it. If the majority agrees with polygamy so be it. If the majority agrees with pedophilia so be it. However, I will not agree with it, and if the majority think I am a hater due to this, then so be it, but you could not be further from the truth. One day, this country will say polygamy should be okay, and then pedophilia and then maybe you may understand how I feel. Maybe you already think you feel as I do. However, I have a Christian viewpoint that is clear in its “codes of morality”. Divorce is wrong, Murder is wrong, Lying is wrong, the list goes on and on, but it also includes Love your neighbor as yourself. I attempt to hold myself accountable as well as I attempt to share my faith. I do not care to shove my faith down anyone’s throats. Christianity is and never was a religion of hate. That premise was man made. If you view the Christian God as a hater, then your argument is with God and not me. If you don’t believe in God, then that is a whole other debate and that would make your arguments make sense. If there is no God, then there is no need for morality no matter what that word means to you. Let me know what else you would like to discuss, and I would be happy to do my best. I warn you, I could be wrong. Could you?

  • tree63fan

    Lottie,
    I also wanted to say that I like your blog name, NICE play on words with your last name. Also, even though I was the butt of it, I do like your sarcasm.

    I also wanted to clarify that I’m writing these comments without anger. I’m just trying to get my thoughts out; sometimes I do better than other times.

    >Responses to other comments<
    Gary wrote (edited): –Does that make me a bad person in their eyes? I f***ing hope so.–

    Sorry Gary, I don’t hate you. And I’m a bad person too. Did you know that the Bible notes that no one is good? I agree that some “Christians” hate, and it sets the wrong example (see comments Mike wrote below), however, that does NOT define Christianity no matter how you look at it.

    Mike wrote: —It’s always, “I disagree with your lifestyle, therefore you don’t have a right to exist or get a job or have a family life or not be persecuted. Oh, and you’re going to hell, you filthy homo. But we love you!”—

    Mike, I’m sorry you have a view of Christianity that is unbiblical. Please research the faith and don’t base it on what misguided “Christians” spew out. It’s easy to do, I know. In the Old Testament some people groups had no choice; they were simply wiped out in order for the chosen people to inherit the Promised Land. They were wiped out due to the perceived sin they would invoke on these chosen people, the Israelites. This Old Covenant is no longer in place and the New Covenant gives everyone a choice. The bible proclaims we will be judged, heaven or hell. If anyone goes to a hell, it will be due to their own choices not anything I’ve said. As a former atheist of 27 years, believe me the choice was difficult, yet easy. Now I just laugh at my old prideful self.

    The biblical God is perfect and cannot be in the presence of even one “sin”. Much like oil and water cannot mix. One lie, One item stolen, One Sabbath Day ignored and we simply cannot mix with God. This is why Jesus sacrificed himself. This was a final sacrifice in the Old Testament sense, which atoned for (removed) the sins of the people. That’s why you hear, “You need a Savior!” We have all “sinned” once, and cannot mix with God. Biblically, to be saved we must trust in this final sacrifice. It is our choice, believe and be baptized or face judgment as oil trying to mix with pure water.

    That is the simplest way I can put the message of the Biblical gospel, hopefully, that makes sense. If I was full of hate, I wouldn’t care at all about your potential eternal destination.

    Peace!

  • Lottie

    Heck, what is morality? You cannot define it without historical biblical principles, so then, nothing should be “wrong”.

    I should hope we can define it without biblical principles. Otherwise, we’d be stoning disobedient children to death. And that’s just for starters.

    I appreciate you taking the time to comment so… thoroughly, but when you start from the premise that there is no morality outside your Christian faith, you insult my intelligence and my integrity. After that, I don’t feel much like chatting with you at all.

    Thanks for the nice comment about the wordplay in my name. I thought it was pretty cool too!

  • tree63fan

    Thanks for reading and posting my comments. The historical comment was not my own, it is a well circulated theory, although, some do dispute it. Do a bit of research, please do not dismiss the morality origin as fantasy. I feel my comment would stand alone well even if you simply read that sentence as “Heck, what is morality? In the atheistic worldview we should just do what we want since it’s survival of the fittest, so then, nothing should be “wrong”.

    Anyway, I meant no offense, and I don’t feel I’m as close minded as one may perceive from these limited comments. Hope to hear back.

    Take care – Jeff

  • Lottie

    In the atheistic worldview we should just do what we want since it’s survival of the fittest, so then, nothing should be “wrong”.

    ::sigh:: I suggest you do some research. And please do not limit yourself to sources that already have your church’s stamp of approval.

  • Mike

    “Heck, what is morality? In the atheistic worldview we should just do what we want since it’s survival of the fittest, so then, nothing should be “wrong”.

    What a load of old toss! That’s a straw man, given that there is no such thing as an “atheistic worldview”; individual Atheists may have individual worldviews, but there isn’t one which applies to all of us. Plus, of course, the fact that even if there were such a thing, it doesn’t imply that there would be no moral source within that worldview. You’re also implying, with your strawman, that we all subscribe to the naturalistic fallacy, which is pretty damned insulting.

    In all, I can’t see a single redeeming feature in your boiled down comment whatsoever.

    Oh, and your earlier comment about the Christian worldview being wrong by definition… Did I not make my Atheism clear enough? Yes, I assume that any views you have based on your religion are wrong; based on their founding basis, I don’t see anything illogical in that.

  • tree63fan

    Mike, you hit the nail on the head. Of course it’s insulting, just like it’s insulting that many insist that I am a hater because I disagree with something someone else agrees with. We could go in circles for hours.
    I truly apologize that I offended you with my hypothetical rant regarding a world without morality and with my response to your comment. Regarding your Atheisim, I felt you made it clear you did not agree with organized religion, that is far from assuming you are an atheist. My apologies for not assuming.
    I too can pick out a few words here and there and focus on it, but as a whole, as I reread what I wrote about the loss of morality rant, my point had little to do with the statement you guys are bashing me on. What about the sentences after that statement?

    I will simplify:
    -Where do you draw the line regarding relationships, heterosexual, same-sex, multiple spouses, child partners, etc? Is it up to the majority, a personal choice or something else? If it’s personal, then how would you propose a society handles this?

    And an honest question for Mike:
    So far, scientists have never been able to create something from nothing. With regard to the universe, as an Atheist, have you thought this through? Have you solved this dilemma without incorporating some sort of higher power? Just curious.

    Thanks for the serious discussion.

  • queerunity

    i wouldnt feel good about mcd’s as a vegan, but im glad they support gay rights

    http://www.queersunited.blogspot.com

  • Lottie

    Hey! Thanks for stopping by my humble abode.

    I can see why a vegan might not want to patronize McD’s. I can hardly stand it myself. Ha!

  • Mike

    Mike, you hit the nail on the head. Of course it’s insulting, just like it’s insulting that many insist that I am a hater because I disagree with something someone else agrees with.

    Except that isn’t why people call Christians hateful. It’s because they speak and act hatefully; disagreement isn’t equivalent to hate, and I don’t know of any gay rights group which claims it is.

    -Where do you draw the line regarding relationships, heterosexual, same-sex, multiple spouses, child partners, etc? Is it up to the majority, a personal choice or something else? If it’s personal, then how would you propose a society handles this?

    Consent. If you want more, meaningful consent, as given by adults.

    So far, scientists have never been able to create something from nothing.

    So? What does that have to do with anything?

    With regard to the universe, as an Atheist, have you thought this through?

    For someone who doesn’t want to be insulting, you keep stumbling into it. Yes, I have thought it through. I’d be willing to be that I’ve considered far more issues relating to the issue than you have regarding your beliefs.

    Have you solved this dilemma without incorporating some sort of higher power? Just curious.

    What dilemma? Naturalistic explanations work and are consistent with the evidence.

  • jesurgislac

    tree63fan: Christianity is and never was a religion of hate. That premise was man made. If you view the Christian God as a hater, then your argument is with God and not me.

    Why aren’t you addressing this to the fundamentalist Christians who do believe in a homophobic God – a God who hates where they hate?

    The belief that the Christian God is a hater originates with these people who boycott McDonalds for not hating gays enough, or who target Heinz for showing an advert in the UK that depicts two men kissing.

    Why are you posting here among people who have merely received the gay hatin’ gospel, not the people who promote the gay hatin’ gospel?

  • Lottie

    Jesurgislac:

    Good points! Definitely needed saying. I wonder if tree63fan even checked out the Huffington Post article where Chris Kelly includes quotes from angry, hateful Christians. Those are the kind of people he needs to be preaching to.

    Thanks for commenting.

  • tree63fan

    I’ve just been trying to understand your viewpoints, since I did not know them before posting. All I knew was that Lottie was against the AFA stand regarding Mcd’s. I tried to make no assumptions other than that… Jesurgislac, does make a good point, and I have debated these hateful so called Christians. There are also those that profess to be pro same-sex marriage Christians, and they too would make the same stand that Lottie made. So, now that we have our beliefs out on the table, I feel we’ve made our points. Thanks again!

    I still never got an answer from one of my very first questions: “I warn you, I could be wrong. Could you?”

  • Lottie

    tree63fan:

    Your question is not original or unique. Research the term Pascal’s Wager.

  • jesurgislac

    There are also those that profess to be pro same-sex marriage Christians, and they too would make the same stand that Lottie made.

    Well, all Christians except those who believe in a hateful God are pro equal marriage, tree63fan. In fact, it’s an excellent testing point of belief: people who believe in a homophobic God, oppose the right of same-sex couples to get married.

  • tree63fan

    I never professed anything of the sort regarding my “Could you” question, I simply was curious if anyone on this blog would admit they could be wrong. I got that answer.

    Jesurgislac, you describe an idol perfectly. A god that fits with what you want to see, believe in, or even deny the existence of.

  • Lottie

    Of course I could be wrong. I’m the first to admit that.

    It seems an odd question, really.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

